We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Amazing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #35 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was my second stay at the InterContinental San Francisco, and it was wonderful. We stayed in a junior suite, which is large and has floor to ceiling windows that gave us an incredible view of the city. The Club Level Lounge was fantastic, and the staff was so attentive. All of the concierges we spoke with were incredibly knowledgeable.

What I found most impressive was that, although the President of the US stayed in the hotel one night while we were there, we did not notice a decline in service to regular guests.

We will undoubtedly stay here again.

Room Tip: Highly recommend getting a Club Level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawg8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,455
    988
    296
    100
    72
See reviews for
514
897
200
969
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just visited San Francisco, decided by the reviews to stay at the Intercontinental downtown. This was an excellent choice! I loved the location & the staff. The restaurant was a bit pricey, but just a block away is Westfield Mall, with a great number of delicious choices to eat, not at all you typical food court.
If you like to get out and walk, all the shopping is a quick 10 mins away. Did I mention there is a Starbucks on just about every corner, and if that's not your deal, a few sweet cafe's as well.
If I have one complaint, it's that I could hear doors closing & people using the ice machines :(
My room was upgraded for free, so I had an amazing view!! And the concierge Will was awesome.

Room Tip: As soon as I checked in I got an upgraded room, without asking, but I would say, it was awesome!!! I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Interncontinental SF while I was in the city for business. I stayed there for a total of 6 nights and enjoyed my stay. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and the sound levels (my room faced Howard) weren't too bad. However, if you are a light sleeper, request a room on one of the higher floors.

The location in Yerba Buena is a 15 minute walk from Union Square and the hotel is conveniently located. A Starbucks is just around the corner. Be careful walking South-West on Howard as the area gets a bit sketchy after dark. If you stay East of 5th, you should be fine.

I used the hotel pool a couple of times and it was a bit short (maybe less than 25 yards) and the temperature was a bit warm for lap swimming. The gym looked pretty new and the spa located on the 6th floor was frequented a lot.

The fridge has a tiny spot to keep your food and all of the mini bar items, bottled water etc. are on electronic sensors so be careful unless you want a charge on your bill. If you want the fridge sensors deactivated, it will cost you around $30. Wireless is $14.95/24 hour period but the price per day is less if you purchase the 3- or 5-day package.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend the Interncontinental if you are attending a conference at the Moscone. It's right beside Moscone West and just a small block away from Moscone South.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trigirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Extremely pleasant personnel. Room was clean and enjoyed the gym and pool but didn't use the spa. Massage available. A little on the heavy side when it came to buying a tube of pretzels in the room. $9.00 for pretzels and $8.00 for a bottle of water. Easier to go across the street to the local deli and order a sandwich and coffee. Go to Mel's diner around the corner for breakfast. Location is near the cable car off Market Street. Tremendous restaurants in Little Italy. Avoid Chinatown as it is filthy.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was a great place to stay while visiting San Francisco! Such a modern hotel, with helpful and friendly staff. Pretty good location within walking distance to many sights.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#23 of 229 in San Francisco
1,165 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,184 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
5,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
4,625 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,139 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#20 of 229 in San Francisco
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,821 - ₹ 39,889
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing