We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel...plus & minus” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #29 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel...plus & minus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed at This hotel last week. Hotel has good location, you can walk to union square and pick up easy transportation everywhere. Great shopping mall and stores everywhere near hotel. Hotel is nice looking, not too fancy. Service is excellent. Staff was super friendly. Room was on 31st floor, on the small side. Decoration was good. Bathroom was great except for the slide glass door. Was not a fan of the bathroom door but bathroom had a nice big tub and shower. Bed was horrible. not a good mattress. Views of the city where nice. Upgrade to club was worth it. Nice breakfast in a nice club room. did not try lunch or dinner but there are free drinks at night which made up for the upgrade price. Spa was small but massage was amazing. Again, very friendly staff. Room had a snack bar, a plus.
Only two complain: no bottled water at the club level to take to your room ( there was plenty of sodas to take out) and our room was next to elevators and it was noisy.
Overall: friendly staff, location, and good price, I would stay again.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room next to the elevator wall, noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaBCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    916
    272
    89
    64
See reviews for
461
850
188
896
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

As a gold priorityclub member, one can tell I favor Holiday Inn brands. I can't, however, figure out why "high end" hotels need to nickel and dime (or dollar) you at every turn. After all, I stayed for a "special" conference fare of $259, much reduced from the more typical $300+. Much less expensive places (but still nicely appointed in good locations) have free wireless, at least for priorityclub members, give you a bottle water or two when you check in, upgrade your room when they have availability, and have a decent business center where you can access the internet and do some limited printing. Don't look for any of this at the InterContinental SF. In your room, a bottle of Fiji water will cost you $6; I don't even want to think what they might charge for an ounce of gin from the mini-bar. Wireless in your room is $15/day, business center is standing only with substantial charges just to log on and print a few pages. (At least you can print a boarding pass for free). Parking is insane -- $59/day once you add in the tax. I was briefly afraid they would charge me for the little plastic bags that they gave out for umbrellas when you came in out of the rain.

The lobby and bar area is small and very noisy ... and you can't avoid it since it's right in front of the elevators. The breakfast buffet at Luce is excellent, lots of fresh fruit, traditional breakfast fare (I liked the genuine maple syrup), etc. Just like everywhere else, have an open wallet attitude. The buffer will set you back like a typical dinner entree -- $28.

The plus side is easy access to the Mosconi center. My trip was for a conference there. Also, the staff at the hotel is extraordinary. Friendly, helpful, always smiling, ever attentive -- they embody what one would hope all hotel staff would strive for. I expect you will be treated right if you choose this hotel.

Overall, the hotel is not a bad choice, particularly for business trips that involve the Mosconi center. Just be prepared to open your wallet early and often.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 773jamesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear James L,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. I am thankful for your comments about our staffs attentiveness. It is always nice to hear a kind word. I am sorry you were unhappy with our rates. We find our rates and parking fees are quite comparable to other hotels of same standards in this area. I sincerely hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again for a future stay.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Too expensive for that kind of hotel. It was crowded in lobby all the time in the evenings, people was too loud.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsville, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed here recently for a business convention at the Moscone Center. The hotel is conveniently located near shopping and many restaurants, and is a quick walk to Chinatown and even to Fisherman's Wharf. However, for the price, I expected nicer rooms. The bed was pretty hard and the armchair in the room was very worn. Some days my coffee cups were not replaced. The internet is $15 a night, which I find ridiculous. The bar was nice, but tended to get loud at night and the drinks were very expensive ($12-15/cocktail). The staff was very helpful and there were umbrellas you could borrow when it rained.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aggiedoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
aggiedoone,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

This hotel is exactly what it seems like, a premium-priced, high-quality service hotel in San Francisco. It's south of Market and everything you want in the city is ultimately a pretty easy walk from here.

It's especially convenient to Moscone Center, and I think it makes a better base than the W (full of Wouchebags) or the St Regis, which has no easily accessible ground floor cafe for casual meetings or coffee. I also like it more than the Marriott, but that's just my personal tastes. (It's newer and a little more minimalist in style, and there are fewer street people right out front -- just a nicer block).

It is pricey, and paying $16/day for wifi makes me want to scream, but that's what you get with expense account hotels. Rooms are clean and well appointed, good TV, good Internet access (I think wired or wireless -- I just used wifi), and very attentive helpful staff (the amount of stuff I've had delivered here or made them store is, well, a lot.) The cafe is very good, and they don't mind if you just get coffee, which is good, because most of my convention experience is just that. I've held a couple of small events here and found the price pretty reasonable for SF, and the catering staff, etc. was excellent.

Protip: If you don't want to drop $28 on the hotel breakfast, the little deli across the street is quite good -- better than it looks -- if you just want a breakfast sandwich or bagel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,569 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#31 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#34 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,074 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#11 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,841 - ₹ 37,365
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and IHG so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing