We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, eco-friendly, amazing value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orchard Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, eco-friendly, amazing value.”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed here on a short break while travelling with my girlfriend - we got upgraded on arrival and were really impressed by how comfortable the room was. Service was really good and the location was really amazingly central, right next door to the gate to China Town too!

Really recommend this place - randomly too it's an extremely eco-friendly hotel too.

SHORT SUMMARY:

Pros: Tidy, very comfortable and eco-friendly.
Cons: None I can think of.

Stay if: Looking for a nice holiday location, good romantic place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liceas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, we truly appreciate you recommending our hotel. It sounds like you and your girlfriend had a great vacation and an enjoyable stay with us. I’m glad to hear that you were impressed with the Hotel as well as the service. The location we’re in is conveniently nestled in between so many amazing neighborhoods of San Francisco. We hope you both return soon to enjoy our city a little longer next time.

Thanks again,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    455
    94
    25
    17
See reviews for
286
587
99
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed here last weekend. In town to treat my sister who lives in Oakland to some shopping, pampering and relaxing and for her bridal shower. Lobby and hallways are bright and clean. Room ( superior double) was also clean and bright. Had amazing floor to ceiling windows. We were only on the 5th floor so view was of the street and neighborhood but a good view and not a lot of noise. Not the largest room but not at all bad for the city. We had no problems with the ventilation or a/c in the room or bathroom. We loved the beds and pillows and comfortors. Had 2 great nights sleep. Shopping and great restaurants in walking distance, both upscale as well as great little neighborhood places. Chinatown entrance right next door. We did not ever eat in the hotel restaurant. Only saw one or two people there. A little disappointing that there was no handicap parking or reduced rate for valet but we were able to find street parking 1-2 blocks away. Have to say the staff while pleasant did not seem at all interested in doing anything extra. We didn't really have any problems but just didn't get the "how can we make your stay better" vibe from them. I did make sure to call in the morning to confirm our exact room and again later when my flight was delayed to make sure I got the right room and to make sure they would let my sister in before I got there. Overall a great stay in the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you for writing about your stay with us. I’m happy to see that you were able to get some good rest in between the bridal shower festivities. Although I’m thrilled to see you recognize the rooms are clean and quiet, I apologize you felt we were lacking in other departments. We use any criticism as a training tool to better our service, so I appreciate you taking the time to share the shortcomings you experienced. I hope you’re not deterred from staying with us again in the future and all of us from the Orchard Garden Hotel hope we get another chance to “WOW” you with the service we’re capable of.

Sincerely,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Just spent a 4 night here. Basic modern hotel with great location steps away from Chinatown Gate. Within easy walking distance to Union Square, Market Street and other streets where you catch a bus to anywhere. Room was on the small side with no view (but I didn't come to SF for a view out my hotel room). Very clean with comfortable bed and linens, and most importantly to me is that it was very quiet. There is a roof top garden where you can take a glass of wine or cocktail after a day out on the town. Staff were helpful. Great restaurants within walking distance. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I've been staying at the Orchard Garden hotel for a few years now as I travel to San Francisco on business and always feel like I'm returning home - however recent large staff turnovers feel like its losing its personal charm a little. That aside, the rooms are good - light, airy, clean and comfortable - the bed and pillows are extremely comfortable, and finally, staying on a lower floor, I had some decent water pressure. One of the best things about this hotel is it's location - around 3 blocks from Union Square, and at the Chinatown Gates. Not a hotel to write home about as such, but a good place to be.

Room Tip: don't hesitate to ask for a different room if you don't like the one you're originally i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsSparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you so much for writing about our Hotel. I love it when a guest refers to the Hotel as “home”. I can sympathize with your concern when you begin to see a turn in staff. However I can assure you we still provide a personal charm. I’ve been here for 5 years now, and knock on wood, I plan to stick around for another 5. One of the best things about boutique hotels is the friendships and bonds that are created between guests and staff.

I sincerely hope we continue to be your home away from home. We truly appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I was staying at the Orchard Garden on my own for a work trip.

All of the staff who I came across were incredibly friendly and helpful. I had a problem with my bathroom one evening and, when the nice guys who came to help couldn't fix it, they moved me to another (high grade) room without quibble. I also received a small gift and very nice note of apology (although there was really nothing to apologise for).

The hotel is very nice, well kept and in a good location. It's easy for the BART (rapid transit rail system), the cable cars, and walkable to some touristy-areas, although not all.

I didn't eat in the (small) restaurant so can't comment on that.

All in all, a great stay.

Room Tip: There are "internal" rooms with no street view so if you like it quieter, ask for one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRichards30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
All of us at the Orchard Garden appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us. Although I’m sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced, I am very happy you were still able to enjoy your stay.

It is extremely convenient having so many different types of public transportation accessible and to be walking distance to a few of the touristy areas. I hope you were able to squeeze in some fun in between your work schedule. If not we all hope you stay with again during some vacation time.

Thanks again,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,728 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,114 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Property: Orchard Garden Hotel
Address: 466 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,661 - ₹ 29,516
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 2006, The Orchard Garden Hotel is one of California's first and foremost eco-friendly hotels. Mixing state-of-the-art amenities with a dedication to protecting the environment, we invite you relax in utmost comfort with us! Built to the national standards of green building developed by the U.S. Green Building Council, The Orchard Garden Hotel is LEED certified, Green Seal Certified, and has earned Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award and gold level for Green Leaders. In addition striving for a 100% non-smoking environment, the hotel is also California's debut of a guest room key card energy control system, which reduces an overall of 20% energy consumption. The Huang Family is committed to maintaining an environmentally friendly and non-toxic environment, as well as a chic and convenient experience. Nestled in the heart of San Francisco, The Orchard Garden Hotel is located near the Financial District, Union Square shops, and many museums and attractions. Whether you are at our Roots restaurant eating locally sourced foods or relaxing on our rooftop garden, you will be at ease with us. We invite you to experience a "Tradition of Excellence" at the Orchard Garden Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing