We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a good hotel, but if you are a Giants fan....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #51 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel is very convenient to AT&T park, and that is why I stayed here. I live in the county just across the Golden Gate bridge, and I was just having a week in the city exploring. After four nights at the Kabuki (I love the Kabuki, but I wanted to be on the Embarcadero) I moved to the Vitale, because I had tickets for the Giants' vs. the Dodgers' games on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. I had not stayed here before.

The hotel is very nice. I was in the urban studio: comfortable bed, free WiFi, staff very pleasant. Also, I loved the big deep bathtub.

After I checked in, I flopped down on the bed and flipped through the TV channels, hoping to catch the end of the Giants playing the A's. No game. I put my shoes back on and went downstairs. I poked my nose in the bar. No television there.

Then I approached the front desk. I knew the answer I was going to get, but I am the obnoxious type that just to ask the question.

"Hey, why can't I get the Giants game in my room?"

The front desk staff were very nice, and said a lot of people stay at the hotel who are Giants fans, and ask why they can't get the games on TV.

"Well then," I said, "I guess I'll just go down to Perry's!" (Perry's is a bar/restaurant one block down from the Vitale. I spent many happy hours of my misspent youth at the original Perry's on Union Street.)

The front desk staff was very nice when I said this, and I felt slightly guilty giving them a bad time for something that they could not control. On the next two nights and the following day, I met my cousin and we went to the ballpark, so I didn't need to find baseball games on TV.

Still, with all the special touches this hotel provides (for example, the newspaper you have requested is hung on your door every morning, and there is an orchid next to the bathtub)
you would think they could figure out how to get their guests local baseball!

OK, now that I've finished my rant, I should tell you that my cousin and I are booked in again at the Vitale at the end of this month, for SF shopping, dining, and yes, three more Giants vs. Dodgers games.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jls4561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,147 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

very confortable room. Good service. It should have a spa/pool area. Guest can use the facilties of YMCA's club close to the hotel, but thy are very modest !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank commentsawwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear commentsawwa:

Our intimate boutique hotel has a lovely spa on the 8th floor and offers unique services such as our Bathing Ritual – a 30 minute treatment in our deep soaking infinity tubs. Accompanied with fresh fruit and herbal tea, the bathing Ritual is the perfect way to unwind and relax. We would love to invite you back and assist you in making a reservation if you’re interested.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Had a fabulous 4 day stay...great location ...rooms classy and comfortable...extraordinary customer service. Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanlNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear susanINewJerey

It’s a pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us at Hotel Vitale. I would like to personally thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. Please let us know when you are back in the area and we would be thrilled to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We went to San Francisco for a romantic weekend and the Hotel Vitale was just right. The view from our room was breathtaking - just at the feet of the Bay Bridge. The trollies stop on the block so it was easy to get around. The hotel restaurant is fantastic and there are several more across the way at e Embarcadero. Enjoy!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank 77,027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Had to stay at this small but nice hotel. Had to break my stay as Hyatt was booked during the period I wanted. The hotel is relatively small, but very nice. The rooms were clean, the staff were excellent in helping the traveler.They were very warm. Check-in and check out were handled quickly. The bath rooms were also very clean. They had some nice bath robes also, and I was tempted to buy one. The room I had just a street view and was in second floor. Funnily, I could see the office across the street and make faces at them also. They are used to such cranky cases I suppose but views are not that great unlike Hyatt which is a tall building. This is three ( may be four ) floor building.. Not much of a good view that way. But rest of the stuff expected from the hotel was excellent. Pricier than Hyatt Regency Did not try their breakfast or dinner. The place is close to many bars and eateries and hence not really have to depend on the hotel restaurant. Overall, I would say excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ferry side. Road side views are boring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anainar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear anainar:

I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our team and plush amenities – the bathrobes are a hotel favorite! Hotel Vitale is privileged to offer a variety of room types with both city and bay views,. Next time you visit, you may want to book a Deluxe Waterfront room, which offer views of the bay. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
4,717 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
550 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#21 of 230 in San Francisco
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,412 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,247 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 17,347 - ₹ 50,383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing