We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,204)
Filter reviews
1,204 results
Traveller rating
505
566
107
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
566
107
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small kitchenette boiled eggs union square walk in closet ceiling fan free parking continental breakfast fridge and microwave family room nob hill tenderloin charming hotel would definitely stay here again priced hotel yogurt grace cathedral an expensive city
Filter
Updating list...
742 - 747 of 1,204 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I researched this hotel as we wanted something near Union square at a reasonable cost. We were very surprised by the hotel, our room had a nice new kitchen and nice view. Staff were very helpful and added bonus was the breakfast every morning ...you could smell the home baking...would certainly recommended it to anyone we stayed 6 nights

Room Tip: excellent value for money so close to Union square..
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozcouple123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

That's a old, but nice hotel.
Great value. Free breakfast [very simple, but ok].
Clean and spacious rooms. Friendly staff.
It's very centrally located, near to Union Square, in a quiet street.
I really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Mayflower!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LariR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Me, my girlfriend and her parents stayed at the Mayflower hotel for two nights last month.
The hotel is well located, justa a few blocks from the Union Square and from the Grace Cathedral. The staff was extremely nice to all of us. The breakfast has just what we needed to start the day: coffee, breads, mufins, cookies, cheese, eggs, etc.
The hotel is a bit old, but the rooms are well cleaned and mine even had flat screen TV. The rooms also had a small kitchen with coffee maker, microwave and a mini-bar.
So... for me it wasn't a perfect hotel because, like I said, but the service, the location, the staff and the room are great.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoaoVicenteSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

great value! i was a bit hesitant when i was quoted $92 (including tax) for a room so close to union square on a weekend... free breakfast? free parking? and $92 a night? hmmmm i was skeptical especially when they didn't ask for my credit card number to hold the room when i made the reservation.

but boy was i surprised! the room isn't fancy, it felt like i was staying in the spare room at grandmas's house. but there was a kitchenette complete with fridge, microwave, and dishes. and really, who wants fancy... you're in SF! you are supposed to be out exploring!!!

i was there for the nike women's marathon, and they even opened the continental breakfast early for the runners. very accommodating! my friends were staying at another hotel a few blocks down which was twice as much, had less room, and check out was firm at 11am, even though 99% of their hotel was full of runners. im afraid to ask how much extra they were charged by not getting back to the room until noon :(

the free parking is literally for small cars only. i have a two door honda civic, and i still managed to scratch my bumper coming out of the basement parking.

the only reason i can't give this five stars is that you have to bring your patience. there is only one person working to check people in/out, help with directions, opening the parking doors, etc.

i will be staying here for all my future trips to san francisco for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenjens31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at the Mayflower for a total of eight nights in September/October 2011.

Hotels in San Francisco tend to be very expensive, and we needed something affordable for an eight night stay. I am pleased we chose the Mayflower. By British standards it was a bargain - about £68 per night - $104 per night inclusive of tax.

The hotel location is great: 2 minute walk (up a ridiculously steep hill!) to the California line cable car, 2 minute walk downhill to the other two cable car lines, 10 minute walk to either Chinatown or Union Square. The street the hotel is on, Bush Street, is very pleasant, and there is a good grocery store right by the hotel, and dozens of restaurants within a ten minute walk. I am happy we didn't choose to stay immediately around the Union Square area, as it is too loud and busy for our liking; the fact that we were a few minutes' walk from the it was actually an advantage.

Breakfast was simple , but tasty: toast, muffins, some scones (yummy!), boiled eggs, sliced cheese (which was very tasty!), peanut butter, tea, coffee, orange juice.

Staff were overall unintrusive and efficient, check in and checkout were very quick (as we had no extras to worry about ). There were a couple of staff members we saw most of the time - a young man who was efficient if slightly disinterested, and a lady with short blond hair who was absolutely lovely. WiFi in the room wasn't the greatest, but it just about worked, and there were two computers for the guests' use on the first floor, which also had a lovely sitting area.

The only downside I can really think of is that some of the rooms have a view of the wall opposite the hotel which makes these rooms a bit dark, but if you are planning to spend more time at the hotel itself I guess you can ask for a room with a better view. The bathrooms were clean, with lots of towels and good quality soaps and shampoos. There was loads of storage space in the room, with a walk in closet.

Oh, and the sushi restaurant on the corner of Bush and Taylor was excellent!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a "view" of the wall - ask for a room with a different view if that matters to you.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews