We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food, across from Japantown”

Kippu Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #374 of 6,311 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and the service. We ate here for lunch with people with ages ranging from children to seniors and everyone really enjoyed their meals. Tempura was delightful. Will return as soon as we are in the area.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2015

The Kippu Restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel. The sushi chef was amazing! He made lots of great sushi within minutes of our orders--usually sushi takes a little longer, but these sushi were extremely good. We kept ordering and trying out new things. At first we sat at the sushi bar to have a drink and decided to move to a table where we ordered a couple of salmon dishes that others had ordered and then kept going and ordering more. The food was plentiful and delicious. Service was good. Prices were good. If we lived nearby we would come back many times.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ccbarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Uni is a good indicator of seafood quality and here it was very good. Maguro, Hamachi and unagi were also very good. Not expensive and service is very efficient. Definitely a place to return to.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank must_travel_soon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

I've eaten here twice and am very impressed with the quality and quantity of food for the price. I plan to return often.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marilyn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Enjoyed sitting at the bar watching the chef do his magic. Also had take out. Food very good, nice range on the menu.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kippu Japanese Restaurant also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Kippu Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing