We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming ”

Haystack Pizza Restaurant
Ranked #1,288 of 6,311 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Pizza
Neighbourhood: Noe Valley
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Noe Valley
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Having just arrived in San Francisco and new to the area of Noe Valley, we scoured the area for something for supper. Whilst perusing the menu outside we were greeted by a lovely friendly waitress - Alexia - who described dishes on the menu in great detail. We went in and were not disappointed. The menu is varied, the food great and Alexia was lovely. Will we go back? You bet.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Orient-fan-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

I so wanted to give this place a higher rating because it does have that local neighborhood vibe and the pizza was very good. I had a personal size pizza which was just right and my daughter had the spaghetti & ravioli half/half which was just ok, nothing special.

However, the service was a bit lacking and it wasn't particularly crowded when we were in. Our food came our fairly quick which was a surprise based on the time we waited for a server to stop by our table after we were seated. We were concerned after watching the inconsistency around us. The food was good but they really need to train the staff on how to manage their tables in a balanced way and stay on top of things.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank ttmt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Before the cocktail lounges, the pressed juices, the Whole Foods, there was Haystack, a pizza joint that opened in the 70s.. No thin burnt crust, no rocket, no speck, no wood-burning oven, no kale and arugula salads. Not then, not now. There are still tables and booths, a small bar, dim lighting, a talking deer head, pizza with a chewy crust and meat toppings, fried ravioli (cheese or beef -- ask for ranch as well as marinara for dipping!), pasta dishes (how many places serve half-and-half spaghetti and ravioli anymore?), entrees, salads (the full antipasto salad serves five; not joking). The service is friendly and efficient, with our waitress checking in on us as each person in our party showed up even as the restaurant filled up. This is the kind of place you go to have a good time with friends you want to catch up with -- it's comfortable, welcoming, and you don't have to worry about whether the food will be good, you just order and let the good times happen.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank edwardsmom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Went recently to Haystack a few times for lunch and, every time, we have great food and great service. They are famous for their pizzas and they have a great selection of toppings. Their pastas too are incredible and the serving is generous. Also, take out is excellent. we tried a few times the Chicken Cordon Bleu, the veal piccata with veggies and mashed potatoes.The packaging travels well. Prices are good too for such a great location.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank diusca2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed the pizza the first time we were here. This was our 2nd visit and though it is s very small restaurant we remembered the food was good. Well this time not only did we have to wait 35 mins for our small pizza but our waitress ( the only waitress) focused more on 1 couple than the rest of the customers. This killed it for both of us especially since the waitresses 2nd job was telling her one couple what zodiac sign they were and their characteristics. ...really. Pizza was great but we won't be back

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Lorena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haystack Pizza Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Haystack Pizza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing