We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mouth Watering” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of Prime Rib

House of Prime Rib
Reserve with OpenTable
House of Prime Rib is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 31 - US$ 40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: Washington St.
Pittsurg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mouth Watering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I have been going there for years, but not often enough. Every bite of the prime rib is delicious as is the spinach and yorkshire pudding. Thankfully, I have friends and family who love this place as much as I do. No wonder there are people waiting to get in. I highly recommend it. One bite and you'll never forget it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dixie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    849
    321
    120
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great classic San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Step back in time with this classic steak house restaurant dicor. If you want prime rib this is the place to go, even though they do have a fish alternative. Prices are comparable and they have a better then most by the glass wine list. The wait staff was wonderful, just the right amount of friendly. Deffinately will go again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
186 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Insane wait but fun experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

One of those old San Francisco places that is truly a fun experience. The value is very good, considering for about $40 you get appetizer, side dishes and the main course. All the food was delicious- prime rib of course, and the salad is just made perfectly (in an old school kind of way). The baked potato might be the best I ever had! They did not hold back on the sour cream and butter and real bacon bits.

The only downside was the wait. We had a 7:30 reservation for a Saturday evening. We had wanted to dine a little earlier and thought we should just go and hopefully get seated sooner.
What a mistake! We ended up waiting a total of 1 hour! My husband thinks it is a ploy to get more bar business and I tend to agree with him. Most tables ended up ordering two or more rounds of drinks before getting to their table.

The service is good and professional. It is a great place for celebration but next time I will take the 5:30 instead.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“What a great meal and experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

First tip: Make a reservation! With two days in advance, I booked a reservation using OpenTable and 8:30pm was the earliest available.

Second tip: I had the City cut prime rib and it was big enough. That's their smallest cut of prime rib and it was plenty, even though I'm a big eater.

Salad and bread come before your meal, and then spinach or corn comes with your prime rib along with a potato and bread putting. It's a bit pricey, but worth every penny. Especially if it's a special occasion. Everything was excellent!!! They cut your prime rib for you off of a covered cart, and the atmosphere was classy yet comfortable. Everyone was very friendly which made for an enjoyable evening. Do not hesitate in going here!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gobucks951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“meat eaters ... yeah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

if you like meat, this is it. they offer a second cut if you finish your first.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of Prime Rib also viewed

 

Been to House of Prime Rib? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing