We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hope you like Prime Rib!”
Review of House of Prime Rib

House of Prime Rib
Reserve with OpenTable
House of Prime Rib is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 5,695 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 31 - US$ 40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: Washington St.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I hope you like Prime Rib!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I think they might have had a blurb about asking about the fish of the day, but otherwise the menu consists entirely of different sized cuts of Prime Rib (which is fine with me!). The prime rib was also one of the best i have had. It was seasoned well and very flavorful, and the au jus that it is served in is really delicious also. We got the mashed potatoes with gravy and creamed corn with our dinner, and both were delicious as well. It is great comfort food. They also bring you bread - we had sourdough and they also brought us some cornbread later too. Your entree also comes with a salad - and a pretty big one! I loved the dressing that was on it, and it was fun how they prepared it by spinning the bowl on ice. Pace yourself as they give you a lot of food! They also come around and offer seconds when you are finished, so bring your appetite! I confess that I was too stuffed to have seconds, but my husband took advantage of the small second slice. Anyway, this place is great. We will be back in a few months for my husband's birthday!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCUAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    872
    326
    123
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
novato, ca
Level Contributor
254 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great night out for beef lovers”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A real treat - excellent service, Not a lot of choices - you come here for traditional "beef" comfort food - but yum if you are up for it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank lane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montezuma, ks
Level Contributor
220 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A well oiled machine specializing in perfect prime rib.”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

After watching No Reservations on Travel Channel, House of Prime Rib went right to the top of the list for our visit to San Francisco. We made reservations on a Tuesday for our dinner on Friday. When we arrived at 5pm, there was already a line forming for seat and the restaurant was filling up. We were seated immediately and our waiter was at our table waiting for us. He explained the menu and personalized our experience by answering questions and interacting with us without patronizing us. The salad was great (but maybe a little too big - as if that is a valid complaint). The prime rib was a spectacle of presentations and was better than expected and very prompt. Francisco the carver was very gracious when I asked to have my picture taken with him. WARNING - the portions are bigger than you think. This place does not skimp anything. We had creme brulee for desert and it was big enough to feed four! I also was impressed with the wine selection and the great bloody mary's.
We have been to Lowrey's in Chicago and House of Prime rib is very very eerily similar. Does anyone know which one came first?
The best part of the meal (other than the meal) was when the kid (approx. 11 years old) at the table next to us ordered the King Henry prime rib. When they brought it to his table, his eyes got even bigger than the cut! It was bigger than he was. Everyone in the restaurant was having a great time, and the waiters encouraged the atmosphere. The glasses were never allowed to be empty and our stomachs were bulging.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontezumaSocialClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A 'Singular' Idea!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Originators of this restaurant decided on a novel approach to fine dining: 1) offer few selections; and, 2) name the restaurant after your most stellar menu item. Keeps them honest. And customers happy! (OK, they offer a fish item but hey, if you really want fish, why are you in the House of Prime Rib??) No culinary lemmings following the latest foodie trends, just same-old same-old GREAT food. If it ain't broken...
The only downside to this pleasure to your palate is the price. If you are dining on someone else's dime, prepare to reach into your pocket for a few extra. If you are dining on your own dime? Dig really, really deep. Or simply save the House of Prime Rib for special occasions, like a Giants Opening Day win, crossing the finish line on your feet after Bay to Breakers, or celebrating that February had an extra day this year. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHADDACalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slave Lake, AB
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Try not to fill yourself up on bread and salad, the prime rib is to die for.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finntar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of Prime Rib also viewed

 

Been to House of Prime Rib? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing