We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and service - superb”
Review of Fior d'Italia

Fior d'Italia
Reserve with OpenTable
Fior d'Italia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #256 of 6,314 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Chestnut Street
Transit: The Powell-Mason Cable Car drops off Taylor and Francisco Sts-1 block away. The Stockton 30 bus line drops off on Columbus and Chestnut Sts.-2 blocks away. The 47 Van Ness drops off North Point and Mason Sts.-2 blocks away. The F-Market Streetcar drops off at Fisherman"s Wharf -5 blocks away.
Description: Opened in 1886, Ristorante Fior d'Italia is America's oldest Italian restaurant. Chef Gianni Audieri continues the tradition of serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine with dishes such as gnocci, osso buco and calamari being called the Best in San Francisco by "The Fior's" customers. We also have private banquet rooms, accommodating from 6 to 130 guests, are available for meetings, receptions, luncheons, and dinners seven days a week. Exclusive use of the entire restaurant for up to 250 guests is also available depending on time and day of the week.Thousands of banquets, parties, business events and weddings have taken place at 'The Fior.' The restaurant and San Francisco share a great history and tradition. In short, Fior d'Italia offers the best of Italy: traditional Italian cuisine and old world service.
Reviewed 25 August 2018

I had lunch in this restaurant after strolling through Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39 and developed an urge to avoid the usual touristy ones. This is a short walk away. The decor is old school but fitting. My colleague and I ordered the Gamberoni allo Spiedo in Pancetta and Prosciutto con Frutta di Stagione for starters. The shrimps were very tastily cooked. The meat was firm and the pancetta provided the seasoning. The rock melon that accompanied the prosciutto was sweet and juicy, and was the star over the pork. We had Linguine Tutto Mare and Bucatini Amatriciana for main courses. The pasta was made in-house, but I wished that it had more bite. We finished with vanilla ice-cream and the tiramisu. We stepped in at 4 pm so the restaurant was not busy - I was surprised they seated us. The food arrived quickly. The outstanding server was very charming and engaging. Overall, the food was authentic and very good. The service was excellent. The price was about $100, which seemed reasonable for value. I have no problems recommending this restaurant to any diner.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kpl_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Recommended by Concierge so though give it ago..Nothing spectacular being allegedly the oldest Italian restaurant inSF i had hi hopes for oldy worldly interior to be honest nothing to write gome about..
The food was ok tasy but again nothing wonderful and quite expensive...No kids options just hakf portions of some dishes found ut hard to get something for our 10 year old who is by no means a fussy eater!!!
The waiters were abrupt unfriendly and def not desrving of the $20 gratuity that they included in our bill...id give this place a miss....

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank tammy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Went to Fior D'Italia on a friend's recommendation. Food was good to very good. Service started slow when server saw we were with 3 kids. But when we ordered a bottle of wine and the kids ordered starters he warmed up. Had Petto di Pollo Ligure, Pollo al Mattone, Bucatini Amatriciana and Linguine con Vongole. All were good. Would go back but would look for other Italian options as well.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Silvano1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Stopped for dinner with friends. Casual atmosphere in North Beach. Parking is a challenge if you don't use the Valet service. It was a busy Saturday night. It took a while for the server to bring menus and take drink orders. The drinks were slow to arrive but good. The bread was delivered which was fresh and delicious. We had to ask for butter and after a while, 2 pads were delivered on a small plate. We ordered oysters, calamari, and bruschetta. The oysters were from Tamales Bay and were fresh but average tasting. The calamari was very good. The Bruschetta did not arrive until a few minutes before entrees arrived. The Paglia e Fieno con Piselli looked good but lacked seasoning and my wife could not eat it. The Petto di Pollo Ligure was very good. The Petto di Pollo alla Valdostana was good but the sauce did not have much flavor. To finish off the evening, we were brought the bill from another table. I can understand when a restaurant is busy but a place with such high ratings should not miss on this many critical aspects of dining. I had high expectations but was disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ranishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Had the chance to dine here just last week. Staff was extremely friendly and this meal was well worth the wait. Do enjoy a glass of the house Merlot, with your meal, and enjoy the free entertainment. This place is definitely for wedding anniversaries and first dates. When you are at the restaurant, make sure you ask the Staff for funny stories about famous people who have also dined there like Robert De Niro, Julia Roberts and the late Robin Williams. The location is a true historic piece of San Francisco history and it is absolutely on my list of favorites. Make sure you save room for some Tiramisu afterwards. Thanks. Hope this helps.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2MARY9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fior d'Italia also viewed

 

Been to Fior d'Italia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing