We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great breakfast/lunch spot.”

Mama's on Washington Square
Ranked #32 of 5,666 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: Established in 1951. The family of Mama and Papa Sanchez, serves up traditional and innovative breakfast dishes in "Little Italy", the famous North Beach District in San Francisco. Across the street from the beautiful Washington Square Park, Mama's legions of fans line up early and throughout the day. We use the freshest of local products, imported Italian meats to fill our fluffy omelettes, homemade jam, fresh baked breads, pastries and other delectable dishes. We invite you to try our little restaurant and become part of the Mama's Family.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a great breakfast/lunch spot.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Mamma Mia! I wish every city had a Mama's. The deli case is loaded with the most attractive and yummy choices. I'd go to Mama's every day if I lived in the area. Everything is delicious - only wish there was more seating.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ladida12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    941
    386
    156
    39
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best BREAKFAST EVER”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

So yes there was a long line outside the door on a tuesday morning but it was so worth it!!! The best breakfast hands down. Thick bacon, the best french toast!! A MUST HAVE if you are in the San Fran Area!!!! I Will be back just for MAMA's!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JeaneeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things!”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is one of my mainstays in SF, every time I visit I have to go here. There is of course a line, but it is worth every minute of it! The staff is always friendly, the food is fantastic!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zanbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Hands down, best breakfast I have ever had! There is always a wait out the door but it is totally worth it, I recommend a weekday for an early breakfast, we only waited 20 minutes. Great service. French toast is amazing with homemade jam and fresh fruit, yum! My fiancee had eggs and bacon with home fries, also very yummy. We also split a coffee cake from the bakery, YUM!!!! Restaurant is small and beautiful! A must do if ur in San Fran!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mgonz045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the wait, best bakery goods and breakfast”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We arrived at 7:45am (it opens at 8am) and there were already 30 people in line. We waited about and hour to actually eat but it was 100% worth the wait. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. I suggest the french toast! We also took a carrot cake (delicious!!!!) and a chocolate crumb cake to go for later! Francis Sanchez, the owner, took our order which i thought was very cool. She gave her suggestions and asked where we were from. The service and staff were friendly, and happy. The atmosphere is extremely warm and welcoming once you are in! So fun, will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KimG338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama's on Washington Square also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mama's on Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing