We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The best BREAKFAST EVER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama's on Washington Square

Mama's on Washington Square
Ranked #39 of 5,533 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: Established in 1951. The family of Mama and Papa Sanchez, serves up traditional and innovative breakfast dishes in "Little Italy", the famous North Beach District in San Francisco. Across the street from the beautiful Washington Square Park, Mama's legions of fans line up early and throughout the day. We use the freshest of local products, imported Italian meats to fill our fluffy omelettes, homemade jam, fresh baked breads, pastries and other delectable dishes. We invite you to try our little restaurant and become part of the Mama's Family.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best BREAKFAST EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

So yes there was a long line outside the door on a tuesday morning but it was so worth it!!! The best breakfast hands down. Thick bacon, the best french toast!! A MUST HAVE if you are in the San Fran Area!!!! I Will be back just for MAMA's!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JeaneeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    873
    361
    151
    38
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is one of my mainstays in SF, every time I visit I have to go here. There is of course a line, but it is worth every minute of it! The staff is always friendly, the food is fantastic!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zanbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Hands down, best breakfast I have ever had! There is always a wait out the door but it is totally worth it, I recommend a weekday for an early breakfast, we only waited 20 minutes. Great service. French toast is amazing with homemade jam and fresh fruit, yum! My fiancee had eggs and bacon with home fries, also very yummy. We also split a coffee cake from the bakery, YUM!!!! Restaurant is small and beautiful! A must do if ur in San Fran!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mgonz045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the wait, best bakery goods and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We arrived at 7:45am (it opens at 8am) and there were already 30 people in line. We waited about and hour to actually eat but it was 100% worth the wait. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. I suggest the french toast! We also took a carrot cake (delicious!!!!) and a chocolate crumb cake to go for later! Francis Sanchez, the owner, took our order which i thought was very cool. She gave her suggestions and asked where we were from. The service and staff were friendly, and happy. The atmosphere is extremely warm and welcoming once you are in! So fun, will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KimG338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I wanted to see what the hype was about this place... the reviews online were all great and even the people in San Fran said to check this place out. Me and my friend went on a Friday morning and waited about 45 min outside as the place is so small that the line ends up on the sidewalk. When we got in they make you order at a register and then once paid show you to your table. The food came out pretty quick and what I got looked amazing. I ordered the Eggs benedict, french toast sampler, and spiked lemonade (sooo good!). The food was rich, hot, and flavorful. The french toast just reminded me of like banana bread with syrup on it (different flavors) but the cinnamon swirl french toast was delish! Honestly, this place is busy all the time and with the way people just wolf down their food, the wait time is not that long. This isn't a sit n mingle place... its a come hungry, eat, and let the next person in. Lol It's worth the wait... it gave me the right ammunition to tackle San Fran on foot as the restaurant is right next to St Peter and Paul Cathedral, Coit Tower, and Pier 39... so we walked it all. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama's on Washington Square also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mama's on Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing