We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“No frills, but worth more than the purchase price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grove Inn
Ranked #5 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No frills, but worth more than the purchase price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

My partner and I were referred to the Grove Inn by friends getting married in San Francisco. They live there, and know the lay of the land. We wanted to stay close to the wedding venues, and the Grove Inn fit the bill. It is comfortable, clean, fine location, and we were very warmly received. I was suspicious of the late arrival procedure, but the night manager was there to greet us, despite our arrival nearly three hours later than planned. The room was ready and comfortable, although the bathroom was small even by San Francisco standards. We were not there to linger and bathe, so this did not present a problem. The offer of modest breakfast was a welcomed surprise in a domestic hotel, and the coffee was hot, fresh and delicious -- more than what we needed to start the day. We had no issues with the locks, nor noise (internal or street), and were greeted warmly every time we came and went. The value was outstanding, easily half the price we had paid only one year prior at branded high rise hotel -- that didn't know us by name nor offer us coffee. If you want something fussy, please go and find it, there are lots of good options in San Francisco. If you want comfort and care, please call (better than email or Internet) the Grove Inn next time you plan to visit the City by the Bay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tmchrstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    53
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
98
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

I've been staying at the Grove Inn for 20 years! and simply wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. The touristy parts of downtown San Francisco hold no appeal to me: and what's special about the Grove, is that it is so unlike the characterless hotels where you really have no sense of their being any different from their replicas in other cities around the world.

The comfortable rooms, furnished in keeping with the building's long history (it's nearly 150 years old), have supremely comfortable beds - and free wi-fi access. Breakfast is included: a convivial occasion, as guests share communal tables and really "connect".

The Innkeeper, Klaus, is truly delightful; very knowledgeable about the city, and he presides over the Inn with a very special style.

"Bed and breakfast" in my home country of England, means somewhere cheaper than a hotel, often rather basic. In the US, it means somewhere really rather special - and the Grove is an outstanding example. Maybe you can stay at a characterless modern building for less money: but choosing the Grove will give you a memorable experience. Being in a residential neighbourhood, rather than downtown, means it's much more peaceful. The frequent bus service is reliable, and downtown is within easy walking distance, anyway: or, if you head in a different direction, the quirky delights of Haight Ashbury (populated by people who must be the children of the "flower power" people of the 60s, but the "vibe" seems so much the same.....) are nearby.
Stay in formulaic hotels if you must - but you'll miss a real treat, if you don't go to the Grove Inn!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Perpetuatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

This is exactly what we are looking for in a B&B. The building is a lovely older one, the room is very nice and comfortable, the proprietor is friendly and interesting, the neighborhood has a lot of good little restaurants, and it's very close to the lovely Alamo Square "painted ladies."

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaurieCSSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

A colleague and I spent a night in San Francisco visiting friends at the end of a business trip out West. We arrived at the Grove Inn, a historic Victorian, and were met by the owner, who was friendly and helpful as we unloaded. We engaged him in conversation about the city, and he gave us advice on how to get around. He told us about the history of the inn and how he came to own and renovate it. Our room was clean, if simple, and the location was on a tree-lined side street just a stone's throw from Alamo Square Park and the Painted Ladies, yet in the heart of the city. We had a parking spot next to the inn for a nominal fee. We had to be at the airport before breakfast, and he provided coffee and pastries for us. It was just what we wanted for the money. Perfect!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Deirdre55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2006

I booked a room WELL in advance through Travelocity. Upon arriving at the Grove Inn, the Innkeeper answered the door, took one look at my boyfriend and I (who, might I add are both clean cut 25 year olds), and said he had no rooms and he had "bounced back" all emails from online providers telling them so. I asked why he didn't call to tell us this, he said "It's not my responsibility!" He then SLAMMED the door in our face. We immediately called Travelocity, whose first step was to call the facitlity themselves to see if they ccould clear up the issue. The Innkeeper answered the first time and then when he heard that it was Travelocity calling, told the representative to call some "other" number - which he refused to provide!! Then, after the Travelocity representative found that "other" number and called it, the Innkeeper put him on hold for 40 MINUTES!! When he finally answered he told Travelocity that he never received an email from them and knew nothing about any reservation and couldn't do anything as he was all full. It took 3 hours to find another room in the city as it was Fleet Week - we had to cancel our dinner reservation and plans with friends, and I have NEVER in my LIFE been treated so disrespectfully! The only reason I can imagine that this man was so rude was because my boyfriend and I do not fit the profile of his "usual" B&B-ers, which are probably over the age of 65. I am taking measures to ensure that the relationship of this facility and any online booking service is severed because they obviously have no problem taking money for reservations and not honoring them.

  • Liked — nothing.
  • Disliked — the rudeness, lack of professionality, oh - and the fact that they took my money and didn't honor my reservation!
  • Tips/Secrets — do not stay here it is a waste and you are throwing away your moneyY!!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
22 Thank emilyc456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,757 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
The Kimpton Buchanan
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Inn

Property: The Grove Inn
Address: 890 Grove St, San Francisco, CA 94117-1712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,507 - ₹ 25,739
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove Inn, family owned and operated since 1983, is opening it's doors after extensive renovations. All of the rooms have been freshly updated and tastefully decorated. Originally built as a Gold Rush boarding house in the 1800's, the Italianate Victorian style inn is located in San Francisco's historic Alamo Square district. The Grove Inn is located in a picturesque part of the city, one block from the famous "Painted Ladies" Victorian houses, and centrally located in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Hotel San Francisco
Grove Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing