We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for first time visitor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Great location for first time visitor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Family 4 days first visit to Frisco! After a truly difficult , which location decision, we chose the Argonaut and Fishermans Wharf. We had a fantastic stay. We had two rooms for three days and then a deluxe double double. A good reliable hotel with some great staff.

Pros
Easy to find and return location.
Close to great eating...Buena Vista, Scoma's
Next to Hyde Street tram stop and Girardeli centre, Gocar and bike rentals etc.
Clean fresh rooms in all categories.
Friendly door staff, although inconsistent valet ( car parking 49$) and reception
the wine reception was good but not a deal breaker as limited wine choice and not sufficient seating in lobby to enjoy.
Nice lobby at other times with fire, although quite dark.

Cons
No complimentary breakfast or even coffee.
Some guests complained of next door noise,,but we heard none
Lobby lounge was too dark to read.
Exceptionally busy bell service due to many short stay guests.

This hotel was a great success for us and we enjoyed our stay. Deifinatey have a meal/ breakfast at Bueno Vista. Jack's bar does a value breakfast which is good although slow service. Not nice at night though. Go car was fantastic fun 58$ first hour 34$ an hour after that with GPS Tour guide system. In our hour, we had two cars we did Union Square, Chinatown, Japan qtr and the length of the Wharf. When at Golden gate park and botanical gardens, we saw many go cars getting about.
We chose the night Alacatraz tour and it was well done. Highly recemend as you get day and Night photographs and experience.
Close to hotel is Scoma's high end fish restaurant, great bar scene right next to the water. Good place.
Pier 39 is great fun with so much choice of eating and slightly better tourist shopping than the kiss. Me quick options dotted along the main street.
Union square area with Macy's and the brand shops has the majority of good hotels.
Tips, go into the Westin St Francis, go to rear of lobby and take the glass lifts up to floor 32if you can just press and hold the lift button and enjoy the view.
Have a. Drink /meal at the 46 floor Grand Hyatt hotel.fantastic views with nice service and decent priced bar and snack menu. Very good.
Best meal we had was the cheesecake factory within Macey's. Take right hand lift up and ask for table on the terrace. You get a good view of the square, heaters if cold and an exceptional menu.
Our best meal by far. 18$ dollar main price point. Fantastic place.

We did the Cliff house for breakfast, which was an amazing spot( great little gift shop too) BUT pricey. 150$ for 5 of us with tip. Ouch. Great though and would do again. My pick, the San Francisco eggs.

Sorry this turned into a Frisco review as against hotel....love the city and hotel and will return.

Pm mail any questions. Happy hols.

Room Tip: All rooms are good quality, price really is space and position, go with your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coppya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,351
    1,534
    340
    125
    55
See reviews for
1,504
2,291
127
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,076)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We spent 5 nights there in March 2012. True to the Kimpton Hotel chain, this hotel is done in fun colours, great linens, and the staff is well trained and very friendly. The location is #1 for first time travelers going to San Francisco, right at Fisherman's Wharf, the best location of any of the hotels in the area. The Mermaid restaurant was great, easy, consistent food, nice wine tasting store in the building too. We found the location to be quiet and very enjoyable. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to San Fran!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kootenaygirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carshalton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel is perfect both in position and quality. we arrived very very early in the morning and after only a short wait were shown to our room. it was spacious, clean and luxurious. our only bad comment about the hotel was that for some reason you could everything that was going on in the rooms next door but as we were hardly in this did not really spoil our lovely stay.
would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctcCarshalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiana
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Was a very clean hotel with big rooms and a beautiful bay view. Staff was great and location was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pastabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

No complaints here. Very spacious room, great view of the water and Golden Gate Bridge. Very luxurious bedding. The staff was ready to help and very knowledgeable. Only had one breakfast at the Mermaid restaurant which was very very good. It's a neat conversion of an old brick building. Only minor issue was that we could hear the neighbors' conversation through the wall fairly clearly...they were a 4 person family so maybe really loud, but still.

I highly recommend this property. And if you are traveling with your best friend, this is the only place in town!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCTraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,907 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,019 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,300 - ₹ 38,571
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing