We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Charm and value in the City by the Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Golden Gate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Golden Gate
Ranked #131 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charm and value in the City by the Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

As many have written here, the Country Hearth Inn on Lombard Street near the Presidio is a lovely, no-frills motel convenient to just about everything in San Francisco. It is clean, well taken care of, it's lovely owners are friendly and very helpful, and it is off the busiest part of Lombard, so it's decently quiet as well.

How close are you from this little gem to the majors of the city? How about:

Golden Gate/Crissy Field: 1.5 miles
Marina District/Presidio: cross the street, Marina eighth of a mile or less
Palace of Fine arts: 3-4 blocks
Giradelli square: mile or so
Lombard Street: mile or so
Chinatown: 2.5 miles
Castro/Downtown: 2.8 miles
.... and the list goes on

The muni buses go right by the motel, so you can get anywhere in the city easily; there are 20 or more good restaurants within 6 block radius; two of the best bars in the city (the FinalFinal and Liverpool Lil's) are steps away.

So yes, you might have to park on the street, but does it really matter? The money you will save staying at this "plain jane" motel will still leave money in your pocket.

And here's one last little secret: You can be out of the city and on your way in less than 20 minutes.......

Room Tip: All the rooms are exactly the same.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    92
    49
    13
    11
See reviews for
43
77
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with friends during a visit to San Francisco. Parking is VERY limited, we were lucky to get there early and didn't move our car during our stay. The location is quite a distance from Fisherman's Wharf, so you might want to take the bus Muni 30 on Chestnut and Filmore, cheap at $2 a ride. The room was clean but very a standard, just a place to lay your head after a fun day of sightseeing. The staff was very helpful. Overall a good stay, but there may be better alternatives, we just didn't shop around very much.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fore4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Very clean, quiet, and convenient hotel for an affordable (compared to other SFO hotels) price. Glad we didn't pay top dollar (or rack rate) for this as it was not really worth the posted rate. Got a decent rate off a discount site. Parking was available in the afternoon but not at night; however, it was very easy to find street parking. This advantage (free/easy parking) gives the hotel a definite advantage. Don't believe the "free breakfast" - think not-so-great donuts and basic cup of brewed coffee. Room was dark (back in a corner) but it was servicable. Nothing to do at the hotel except sleep -- which was all we needed. Not sure it would be a great choice if you have small kids along (just because of size). A good choice for a night or two.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter (away from Lombard Street); they are also quite dark. Didn't need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunfishrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

The owners are Indian and quite helpful. We stayed here for 3 nights, total price was $225, this was less than the price we saw on the internet.

Parking space is very limited, I guess there were 10 available places so we got one and left the car there for all of the three days.
Location is great, you can reach everything by foot or bus, we did everything by foot because we liked to walk and see the beautiful city.

The wifi connection is very good.

The room was clean and the shower was good.

The breakfast was very small but we were ok with that.

I would really recommend this motel to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel was not my first choice, but it was in effect my only choice as almost all hotels in San Francisco were booked when I was looking for a hotel.

Opinions may differ about the location. It's definitely not downtown. There is no subway/bart nearby, so you need to have a car, a bike or take the bus to get near Market St. or Union Square. But, it is right next to the Presidio and not too far from the Golden Gate Bridge. I'd say the location is not perfect, but it could be worse. It is primarily a motel and if you do come by car, the location is just fine of course. Just a few blocks away is Chestnut Street with all its shops and diners. The whole neighborhood is quite nice actually.

The hotel itself is fairly basic. The rooms are fine and well kept. I slept very well. There is a TV, which I didn't use. They don't serve breakfast, but in the morning they offer coffee and some fruit in the office downstairs. WiFi is free and works very well, not just in the office but also in the rooms.

I didn't really need the staff that much, but when I did ask them a few things (like which bus to take or where to get some dinner), they were very helpful and clearly knew the city and neighborhood well. Check in and check out were easy and fast.

One issue: the water pressure in the shower is not very good. If you know the episode from Seinfeld where Newman, Jerry and Kramer lose the pressure in their showers and their hair looks terrible because of it.. well, you get the picture.

Next time I hope to find an affordable place downtown, but this is not because I didn't like this place. If you don't mind the location, this hotel is worth your consideration.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prasenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Knights Inn San Francisco / Near the Presidio
Knights Inn San Francisco / Near...
#170 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#166 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#142 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#154 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#104 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Golden Gate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Golden Gate

Property: Inn at Golden Gate
Address: 2707 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2411 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn San Francisco)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,653 - ₹ 18,329
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Golden Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Golden Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hearth Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Country Hearth Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing