We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #10 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Monroe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

This is a great location to catch cab, trolley or just walking.

Room Tip: This is a great location to catch cab, trolley or just walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    230
    44
    7
    6
See reviews for
161
256
29
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed here in March of 2012, and I found it to be a very charming, conveniently located hotel, with good service and great views. I stayed in a suite, which was spacious and comfortable. There is military memorabilia decorating most of the hotel, which is interesting to look at and which adds to the historic sense of the hotel. Cocktail hour and the complimentary breakfast on the top floor were lovely, and the top floor also has wonderful views of downtown San Francisco. The breakfast buffet had a great selection of breakfast foods. The hotel has free wifi, which I really appreciated! The fitness center is great, with many cardio machines plus an entire room of weights and spacious locker/shower rooms.

I did not use room service, nor did I use the concierge service, so I cannot comment on those things.

A problem I have with TripAdvisor's rating system is that there is no way to distinguish a five-star hotel from a five-star, excellent experience. This hotel is not a five-star hotel--it's probably more of a 4 star hotel, but I had a truly excellent experience. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEKBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallengm, General Manager at Marines Memorial Club Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. All of us at Marines' Memorial appreicate your patronage and support. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Respectfully,
Michael Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Complimentary Happy hour and breakfast on the 12th floor were both excellent with great views. Very friendly staff. Great location too. I would go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kab11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I had a good time staying here. I spend 2 nights at the hotel. It locates conveniently down town, just a few blocks from Union Square. Fortunately, we got a great deal for the room rate. The hotel and rooms were decorated with historical militarily items. Just reading all the exhibits were enjoyable. Staffs were helpful and very nice. Except only one thing, the breakfast were quite limited. There were only a few choices to choose.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saksatien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Our friend got a suite for our trip up to San Francisco at this hotel. We ended up splitting the cost and paying a great price! There are some great floors to this building as it is a Marine Memorial Club Hotel that are definitely worth exploring. The breakfast buffet on the 12th floor offered a wide variety of food that we definitely enjoyed and our server Andy was AMAZING. The buffet had the best hospitable service imaginable. The suite itself was amazing. The suite was amazing...the bathroom rather large and the bed SUPER comfortable. We plan on returning to this hotel again :)

Room Tip: The showers are a little bit tricky. You just pull the faucet exterior down! It is a common trend in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,910 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Property: Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,769 - ₹ 20,944
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located next to Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square. Live piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing