We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #15 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I had a good time staying here. I spend 2 nights at the hotel. It locates conveniently down town, just a few blocks from Union Square. Fortunately, we got a great deal for the room rate. The hotel and rooms were decorated with historical militarily items. Just reading all the exhibits were enjoyable. Staffs were helpful and very nice. Except only one thing, the breakfast were quite limited. There were only a few choices to choose.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saksatien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    223
    43
    7
    6
See reviews for
148
242
29
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Our friend got a suite for our trip up to San Francisco at this hotel. We ended up splitting the cost and paying a great price! There are some great floors to this building as it is a Marine Memorial Club Hotel that are definitely worth exploring. The breakfast buffet on the 12th floor offered a wide variety of food that we definitely enjoyed and our server Andy was AMAZING. The buffet had the best hospitable service imaginable. The suite itself was amazing. The suite was amazing...the bathroom rather large and the bed SUPER comfortable. We plan on returning to this hotel again :)

Room Tip: The showers are a little bit tricky. You just pull the faucet exterior down! It is a common trend in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here Friday-Sunday and loved it! It was so conveniently located down town next to all of the shopping, bars, and restaurants. Since my husband is active duty military we had a rate of $89 on Friday and $99 on Saturday. We also had free happy hour from 4-6pm and a free full buffet breakfast form 7am-11am. The staff is so friendly and it is just SO convenient to have great full breakfast like we did. It was definitely a nice money saver. For 2 nights, our parking ended up being $66 as opposed to $90 since the hotel verified our parking. I would definitely stay here again, and plan on it when my parents come to visit in July.

Room Tip: Try and get a corner room. It might have more of a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmw127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have only good things to say about this hotel. It is so conveniently located right off Union Square, Fabulous choice of restaurants all within walking distance and an array of shops too. We had a military rate of $149 per night which is the members' rate, parking is a very short walk away and is $27 per day if you stay in the hotel. You can take your car in and out for no extra charge. Breakfast is included in the cost as is the 4-6pm happy hour which makes this a very good deal! Both are served on the 12th floor which has stunning views over the city. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We had a king room which was very spacious with a huge closet which had a full sized fridge and coffee making facilities. The bathroom is on the small side but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean. The style of the hotel is older but that is part of its charm. There is a lovely library with a fire to relax by. We did not use the gym facilities or the pool so cannot comment on that aspect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireScots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

March 20-22, 2012. 1st time staying here & not the last. My corner king room facing Mason & Sutter was quite large with lots of natural light. Bed was very comfortable. Construction outside was noisy, but not the hotel's fault. The windows had plantation shutters for a very nice touch. I stayed as a guest of a member. I arrived early and there was no problem holding my luggage til I was ready. The Club has a discount for garaged parking just up the street with in/out privileges. Happy hour at the restaurant/bar on the top floor is NOT to be missed, either is the complimentary breakfast with the best views in this area of the city. The history is spectacular, I stayed on the 5th floor with all of the plaques of fallen marines. The Club Room on the 11th floor is not to be missed either, such tradition!
The hotel is convenient to the trolleys, Chinatown, Japantown - basically everything. The people I met staying at the hotel were very cordial, professional and extremely pleasant to socialize. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a King corner upgrade if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSarbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,952 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Property: Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,599 - ₹ 24,285
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located next to Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square. Live piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing