We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
US$ 404
US$ 199
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 301
US$ 242
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 395
US$ 253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 301
US$ 251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$ 265
US$ 259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 325
US$ 302
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
da Vinci Villa(San Francisco)
US$ 232
US$ 208
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 230
US$ 209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Taj Campton Place(San Francisco)
US$ 449
US$ 321
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$ 262
US$ 218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (818)
Filter reviews
818 results
Traveller rating
470
273
59
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
273
59
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarine corpsfree happy houractive dutymilitary historytop floorarmed forcesunion squarebreakfast and happy hourprivate clubbreakfast buffetcocktail hourparking garage isbrick wallhealth clubbusiness centerstreet noiseroom rate
Filter
Updating list...
609 - 614 of 818 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

March 20-22, 2012. 1st time staying here & not the last. My corner king room facing Mason & Sutter was quite large with lots of natural light. Bed was very comfortable. Construction outside was noisy, but not the hotel's fault. The windows had plantation shutters for a very nice touch. I stayed as a guest of a member. I arrived early and there was no problem holding my luggage til I was ready. The Club has a discount for garaged parking just up the street with in/out privileges. Happy hour at the restaurant/bar on the top floor is NOT to be missed, either is the complimentary breakfast with the best views in this area of the city. The history is spectacular, I stayed on the 5th floor with all of the plaques of fallen marines. The Club Room on the 11th floor is not to be missed either, such tradition!
The hotel is convenient to the trolleys, Chinatown, Japantown - basically everything. The people I met staying at the hotel were very cordial, professional and extremely pleasant to socialize. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a King corner upgrade if you can.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSarbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This was the second time I ever stayed at the Marine Memorial Club Hotel, and still experienced the same thrill as when I stayed there the first time. The history surrounding this Hotel is amazing and is located in the middle of downtown San Francisco. The reception area is filled with history and great displays. The Library is absolutely amazing and we got to visit a few days before Christmas and got to see the awesome Christmas tree display.
The breakfast the next morning in Leatherneck Steakhouse was absolutely wonderful. It made me laugh because the buffet has gourmet versions of some of the dishes from the military I used to have along with the mini bottles of Tabasco to go with it.
If I ever get a chance to return to San Francisco again, I will always stay here if possible.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redhawk_Marine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Week of 3/12/2012. My small room and tiny bathroom were not clean. The windows are old and drafty so there was lots of street noise and a constant chill. There is no surface in the bathroom to place toiletries. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveANiceHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

DISCLOSURE: I am a member of the Marines Memorial Association the non profit that owns this hotel.

I have never re.greted joining this organization. If you have been honorably discharged from any branch of the U.S military you are elgible to become a member of the Association which is fully tax deductible.

Members can stay at the hotel for a very reasonable rate, especially for San Francisco. Rates for a standard room run about $130 per night. The hotel is located just a few blocks off Union Square. The rooms have been all renovated and are clean and good size for the City. Included is a large buffet breakfast, happy hour every evening with an open bar on the 12th floor with a beatiful view of the bay, and free admission to the full athletic club. A fantastic deal for San Francisco.

The hotel itself is a veritable museum of the Marine Corps with a wonderful military library as well as the Marine Corps exhibits throughout the hotel.

If you are on Active Duty you can get a room for around $70 per night for your family. You do not have to be a Member. Rooms are also open to the public for very competitive rates.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank nsgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Great location, free happy hour, good breakfast. Restaurant has amazing city views and the best customer service. Will definitely recommend and return in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronica030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews