We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SF's Best Kept Secret!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Ranked #16 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I absolutely love this place! I have stayed at MMC on many occasions, and each time it just gets better and better. The staff is genuinely friendly and hospitable, always smiling, happy and ready to help. I appreciate seeing the same faces year after year, including the General Manager who is always so attentive and consistently goes above and beyond to make guests feel special and welcome.

The location of the property is fantastic, within close proximity to many of the city's major destinations and attractions. Very convenient, with the ability to walk for shopping, dining, sight seeing or catching a cable car or taxi.

The rooms are spacious and all of the facilities are very well-maintained. I am impressed with the amenities and appointments in each room, and with Housekeeping's attentiveness. There's a great business center and a fantastic gym. I also love the restaurant, which features great views and wonderful food. The included breakfast and happy hour is a great value, and a rare offering in hotels these days.

Most importantly, I always feel very safe at MMC, which is critical as a female who primarily travels alone. I would recommend MMC to anyone-- families, business travelers, leisure travelers... Thanks for another memorable stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful. Suites are huge and extremely comfortable! I could just move in!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpaChick5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (755)
There are newer reviews for Marines Memorial Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 566 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed here for a week long conference. The hotel was very clean and our double room was quite large. It is a short walk uphill from union square - yay. Decorations were all very interesting - marine memorabilia.

I loved that there was a room mini-fridge, free breakfast (one type of breakfast meat a day, fresh pastries, fruit, etc), & free happy hour. Their orange juice was super delicious. Don't forget money for tips. If you don't have time for a sit down breakfast, pastries, fruit, tea, & coffee are available in the business center.

I spent a lot of time studying for class on this trip and the business office or library were fabulous places for that.

My only complaint: The last night, there was some huge party upstairs. Since we were the topmost floor with hotel rooms, the noise came through super loud - The DJ had the base at ridiculous levels. The front desk did offer to upgrade us to a larger suite that was quiet. Very nice staff :)

At night, the street noise was really noticeable to me - not uncomfortable/bothersome, just noticeable - but keep in mind that I'd just spent the last year living in relatively rural Fairbanks.

Room Tip: Higher rooms probably have less street noise but you may get noise (overly loud base) that travels d...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkdolphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This was my second stay at the hotel and it was as good as the first time. The hotel is for veterans who qualify for membership.
As before the price was right, inexpensive compared to others of the same quality. My room was spacious with anew hd tv and very a very comfortable lounge chair with ottoman. Two of the benefits that give added value are the free full breakfast and happy hour.
If you qualify, you should consider joining.

Room Tip: Arrive early for happy hour. Most tables have a beautiful view of th skyline and sunset.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay and absolutely superb value for money. Located in the heart of the San Francisco city and very close to Union Square, all the major attractions are within walking distance or a short cab ride away. The cable car is also almost right at your door-step. This hotel is great value for money and the staff are very very helpful and polite. I loved the evening happy hour and was very pleasantly surpassed at the range of free drinks available. The free breakfast is also terrific. My wife and I stayed in a corner king room for 4 nights and thought it was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The bathrooms are perhaps a bit dated, but they are functional and very clean. The free Wi-Fi is also an added bonus. Well worth a stay and lots of interesting things to view and read about in the hotel too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HKinTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I will start by saying I did not stay at the Marine's Memorial Club, but I did eat at the excellent Leatherneck's Steakhouse on the 12th floor. Magnificent nighttime view of the city, attentive service and a superb, moderately priced steak was my reward. I would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant to anyone staying around Union Square area in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank ocall0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
5,274 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,824 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 230 in San Francisco
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marines Memorial Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marines Memorial Club Hotel

Address: 609 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 16,771 - ₹ 32,961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marines Memorial Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel is located steps from Union Square and San Francisco's iconic cable cars; walking distance to Chinatown, art galleries, museums and the best shopping district in the city. Built in the 1920's in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, this historic 138 room hotel is fully renovated with comfortable air conditioned guestrooms and suites. Free wireless, robes, wall safes, cable TV and a full service health club with indoor swimming pool located on site. Rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking downtown and Union Square. Live piano music Tuesday through Saturday nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marines Memorial Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marines Memorial San Francisco
Marines Memorial Club
Marines Memorial Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing