We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to like, minor annoyances”
Review of SW Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SW Hotel
Ranked #125 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots to like, minor annoyances”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We were looking for a slightly less expensive place to stay for 2 nights in SF with a visiting relative, and tried the SW. The hotel was VERY clean and in excellent condition. Our room on the 4th floor had no street noise, although faced an air shaft, so no view. Easy walk to lots of restaurant choices, either in Chinatown or North Beach, plus City Lights bookstore just around the corner. Loved that there were 4 accessible outlets in the room, including one next to a mirror in the bedroom area. There was actually plenty of open floor space around the king size bed - a feature you do not take for granted in an SF hotel room! Minor annoyances - walls were a tad thin (could hear TV/coughing in next room), plastic cups instead of glass, teeny closet, and blinds only on window. Overall a very good experience and we will certainly consider again for future trips. One caveat - we are walkers and comfortable taking nearby city buses, so the location worked for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fresno_roadtrip50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    186
    87
    19
    10
See reviews for
41
161
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here for three nights. I was on a business trip but brought my mom along for her birthday celebration. We paid $150/night for two double beds, which was less than half the cost of other downtown hotels.
The good:
- clean, clean, clean!
- breakfast was fine for us with pastries, cereal, and bagels.
- the staff was friendly.
- the location was good, within walking distance to some great Italian restaurants and all of the Asian food you could imagine!

The bad:
- noise level. Because of this location, there are many bars around that apparently have live music, blaring until 1-2am. Lots of road/traffic noise as well. I finally slept good the last night out of pure exhaustion.
- bare bones. This place is not fancy, nor does it claim to be, but if you're expecting any special perks like room service or a coffee maker, look elsewhere.

For our purposes, it was fine. We taxied or cable carred anywhere we wanted to go outside of Chinatown or "little Italy" and it was great.
San Fran is such a fun, quirky, interesting city. We had a blast!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoleGirl0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Visited this hotel for the second time in January 2012. Since my first visit in summer 2009 nothing really changed. Little Italy and Chinatown are still so close, the hotel is still perfectly clean, the staff still very friendly and my rate included breakfast which it did not the previous time.

The only thing to slightly complain about is the missing in-room safe deposit box, the receptionist is however happy to take passports and other documents to be stored in hotel's safe, will not take cash though.

Otherwise the hotel is still an very good choice for leisure traveller, primarily because of its perfect location, cleanliness and friedly staff. So next time in SFO, I will always check the availability of the SW hotel first.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pivko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Standard room 150$ incl. breakfast
Chinese-run hotel with small but clean and nicely furnished rooms. Very good bed. Very helpful and polite service at the desk. The huge breakfast includes bread, muffins, fruit, eggs, muesli, coffee and tea, but why a hotel of this class should use paper dishes and plastic forks eludes me totally.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawsteen1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed here one night a month ago, after a weeklong conference. To go from a Marriott to this was a bit of a downer, but at the same time I didn't want to spend a ton on a room just for one Friday night in SF. This place was perfect for that. The location is smack in the middle of Chinatown, about a 15 min. walk to the Financial area. There are buses close by that you can hop on for $2 (exact bills only) if you don't want to handle the hills. It's also very walkable to Fisherman's Wharf (probably about 20 minutes) as well as other touristy sites. The room I stayed in was small but fine for what it was. It was well kept and clean, although the shower seemed a bit tight. However for the price you pay it's pretty good and the staff is very friendly. They also have a shuttle bus deal to the airport for $15 that they will help you arrange. Overall would recommend it for those who don't plan on spending a lot of time in their hotel room, want to be in a central spot, and don't have a lot of money to spend (room rate was about $110).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#116 of 229 in San Francisco
299 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 229 in San Francisco
769 reviews
Chinatown
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
#144 of 229 in San Francisco
425 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Washington Square Inn
Washington Square Inn
#17 of 71 in San Francisco
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SW Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SW Hotel

Property: SW Hotel
Address: 615 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4405
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,987 - ₹ 44,798
Hotel Class:3 star — SW Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your SW Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sw Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing