We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, it was fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok, it was fabulous!”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I agonised for weeks over choosing a hotel in San Francisco. Dismissed the Omni originally as the rooms looked a bit dark and old fashioned. Two days before we travelled I finally chose a different hotel, but at the last minute changed my mind and booked the Omni on the basis of the positive vibe you get from all the TA reviews. It was a seriously good decision, and the most enjoyable experience of the five places we stayed on this trip.

Booked a Signature room on a high floor and it was better than I expected - not too dark at all. Felt spacious and bathroom was nice, with very good shower. But as everyone has said, the service really does make a differece - you feel so welcome, everyone is very helpful and every single employee anywhere gives you a friendly smile and hello when you see them. It really does make a difference to the enjoyment of your stay.

Definetley join the loyalty programme before you book - free wi-fi and also complimentary coffee and tea in the morning - always delivered exactly at the time requested and the best tea I had in the USA (it actually had some flavour!).

Oh - and the location is good as well. Nice and quiet over the weekend in the Financial District, but very close to Union Square for shopping, China Town, Little Italy, Embacadero - no shortage of places to eat close by.

Room Tip: High floor very quiet. Signature room very nice. Join the loyalty programme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beanbagglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,889
    1,072
    193
    59
    22
See reviews for
1,316
2,108
205
973
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Flew in for a long weekend to meet up with my family from San Diego. Check in was seamless and the room was ready at noon when I arrived. the room was clean and very comfortable - plenty of closet space and drawers. Front Desk very helpful when asking for recommendations on dining, housekeeping staff always had a friendly greeting and was very understanding when we forgot to put the privacy sign on the door - no problem will come back and they did. Check out was sad - didn't want to leave. bill was under the door and just dropped the keys in the bowl on the way out. took the hotel car service back to the airport and the ride was peaceful and relaxing. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuffinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Omni SF is what every hotel should be. Consistently great service, central location, elegant rooms and a staff that goes above and beyond. Thank you!

Room Tip: Calfornia St rooms are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruinbelle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed at the OMNI about 3 weeks ago ( april) for 2 nights. My bf booked the room and I arrived later than him. My first impression was that the room was quite small. The bathroom was also very small, with hardly any counter for ladies makeup, and to be able to shower you climb into the bathtub. But we were late to dinner and did not deal with it , but on the way back we ran into the manager at the front desk and decided to ask for a bigger room with a big tub/ separate shower etc. He said only the presidential suite was available which normally runs for $ 1200 or 1500 I don't remember ( tried to look on their website now but its not listed) ANYWAYS, he upgraded us for $300 extra per night ( we were paying $250 already for the regular suite ) so it came out to 550/per night. He escorted us back to our old room, waited outside and took us personally to the suite. I jokingly said " I hope this deal comes with a bottle of champagne" .... well 10 min after we switched rooms .... knock knock on the door, and a champagne bottle and 2 glasses arrived at our door. That was so thoughtful and we had a lovely evening taking a bath in the huge jacuzzi sipping champagne and talking. The suite has a small kitchenette, a large living/dining area, the big tub, separate large shower, 2 TV's, one in the bedroom one in the living area. Overall I would not pay this much every time but it was a nice experience. The decor is very traditional. Staff is helpful, busboy is attentive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AggieSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed at the Omni for my birthday weekend. Not only did they accommodate us with an early check-in, they gave us an upgraded room! That evening, we returned to the hotel to find a piece of incredibly good chocolate birthday cake big enough to share, along with chocolate chip cookies milk on a personalized plate for our 11-y/o. I don't think anybody has made such a big fuss over my birthday since I was 11. The following morning - my actual birthday - when we walked into the lobby the front-desk manager sang out, "Happy Birthday!"

The location of the hotel is great - within easy walking distance to Chinatown and the Ferry Building. We got excellent advice on restaurants and things to do, and all the staff was very friendly and helpful. This is definitely at the top of my list of places to stay while in SF.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaGilr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
470 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
2,933 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,206 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,544 - ₹ 47,105
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing