We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite SF hotel so far” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #3 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“My favourite SF hotel so far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I've stayed in many hotels in San Francisco and so far I think this is my favourite. At first I was a little leery of staying in the financial district but when I realized how close I was to everything (my preferred mode of transportation is walking), I was thrilled. It's easy to walk to the Ferry Building (Farmers' Market on Saturday), to Chinatown & North Beach and even to SOMA.

Our room was large and the king size bed was very comfortable with great pilllows and sheets. Two robes were provided (hotels that only provide one drive me nuts). There is nothing trendy about the decor but it's inobtrusive and very comfortable. The bathroom was very large with a separate and spacious shower and nice amenities. Maid service was sympathetic and inobtrusive. The concierge and front desk staff were very helpful, with the exception of one person (who helped lose the fifth star in this review). All in a all, a great stay and I can easily recommend this hotel.

Why did it lose a star?

The gentleman who checked us in was okay at first but when he found out where we were from, not that pleasant. I guess he didn't like a city in our country. Wow. That was WEIRD, dude! When we asked him for restaurant recommendations for lunch (we had just flown in and were tired) he just vaguely waved his arms and said "there are hundreds around here, take your pick". Unhelpful. However, subsequent front desk staff were lovely.

Low battery in our in-room safe.

Lodgenet was terrible quality.

I don't like paying for Wi-Fi. I find it cheap on the hotel's part.

Overall however, I like the hotel and I'll stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,564
    997
    185
    55
    20
See reviews for
1,190
1,944
197
892
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Omni Hotels are always my favorite hotels - and the San Francisco Omni in Union Square area did not disappoint!

From check in to check out, it was an outstanding experience. A special thank you to Laura, at the front desk, who made our stay extra special. She greeted us at arrival with a warm and welcoming smile. When she heard we were celebrating our 30th anniversary, she sent a wonderful treat to our room to help us celebrate. In fact, every staff person we came in contact with had a smile while asking if we were enjoying our stay.

The room was classic, spotlessly clean, with extremely comfortable beds. The Omni's Select Guest membership provides free beverages at a time of your choosing in the mornings - would definitely recommend joining for this benefit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dc4Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Great hotel with great location. Steps from fisherman wharf, union square, and any mode of public transportation. My room had two flat screen tvs, sofa, and huge bathroom. The lobby had fresh hot apple cider and apples to enjoy. I would definitely stay at this omni again. One note, I have been craving the oven roasted garlic crabs since returning back to dc area. Please do not miss out on ths s.f treat!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbadosluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stay here every year on business trips and love it. The service is great, and the rooms are very nice. The cable car runs right outside the front door and Chinatown is just 2 blocks up the hill. One of my favorites in SF.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samjust08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed for two nights. Very good location (near financial district, but also walking distance to great shopping -- speaking of which, Westfields shopping centre on Market has the most plentiful shops, plus the Embarcadero has good shopping as well). My room on the 7th floor appeared to have been recently renovated. Was a little loud, though, with the window open as the cable car was right outside. I thought the front desk staff were great. My air conditioning wouldn't work and as a result I had a poor night's sleep, but I should have let the hotel know and asked them to fix it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Intl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#30 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Francisco Hotel

Property: Omni San Francisco Hotel
Address: 500 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94104-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,296 - ₹ 35,602
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni San Francisco Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Francisco Hotel provides luxury accommodations in the heart of downtown San Francisco - the jewel of California. This beautiful downtown hotel is located right on the cable car line and is only a short walk to Union Square, the San Francisco neighborhood that has become a mecca for high-end shopping and art galleries. Ideal for a romantic getaway, the Omni San Francisco Hotel offers modern amenities in a boutique ambiance due to its Florentine Renaissance architecture. Built as a bank in 1926, the lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers.This classic elegance makes the hotel the perfect location for a memorable wedding reception. Bob's Steak & Chop House has carved out a reputation as one of America’s great steak houses. From great food to attentive and seasoned wait staff, Bob’s Steak & Chop House offers an unmatched dining experience in the heart of San Francisco. Located just 20 minutes from San Francisco International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Omni San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Francisco
San Francisco Omni
Omni Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing