We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”
Review of Gott's Roadside

Gott's Roadside
Ranked #68 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Description: Gott's Roadside is a different kind of burger joint. We serve juicy cheeseburgers with thick chocolate shakes, but our versions of these American classics are made-to-order from top-notch, locally sourced ingredients. Our menu goes beyond the beef to include a renowned Ahi tuna burger, fresh salads and tacos. Try finding those at your average drive-in. Our commitment to local sourcing also extends to the glass: our list of California wines and beers means you can order a cheeseburger with a high-end Napa Valley cabernet, or sip a San Francisco-brewed Anchor Steam alongside your spicy, sweet potato fries.
San Carlos, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The caeser salad is the worst caeser I have ever tasted and it is very difficult to screw up a salad.
Fries are pretty good and I dont recommend this resturant to "pickie" kids or adults.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    202
    49
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“They still have a very good burger...but...”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

After trying Gott's for the first time last December, I wanted to go back for another. I remember being full last time after the burger and a few fries, so I only went with a bacon cheeseburger and an espresso shake this time. (see photo)
I know food can be expensive in San Francisco, but 16.25 (tax incl.) is a little much for just a burger and a shake. The burger was pretty good, but the shake was lackluster (I should have just gone next door to Starbucks for a Frappuccino). It was an Espresso shake, but tasted like a boring coffee shake with little flavor. The food wasn't bad, but it also was not worth what I paid. I will most likely skip it next time.
Shake was 5.99 and Bacon Cheeseburger was 8.99. It's not like it's a really big burger or anything, either. I was hungry. I wasn't going to protest the prices. ;-)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mailgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courbevoie, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome hamburgers!”
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

We took an onion ring and blue cheese hamburger (11$) and a more basic hamburger (8$) and both were really good!! Their size is not very big so the prizes seem a little expensive. Bad point with the service: they lost my order and I had to wait a little bit more. The location of the restaurant is nice, because located in a very popular place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krystoffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hands down the best Burgers I've ever had.”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I visited Gott's twice.
On the first visit I had the Ahi-tuna burger, which was the best tuna I have ever eaten.
On the second visit i had the Wisconsin Sour dough Cheese burger, which was the best burger i have ever had.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wijnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great, fresh food”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had a great lunch here. My son had Ahi poke tacos which were awesome. I had a spicy chicken sandwich which I came back a second time later to order. My daughter had mini-corn dogs and raw veggie sticks instead of fries, which made me and Mom happy. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Disguyoverhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gott's Roadside also viewed

 

Been to Gott's Roadside? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing