We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An intimate magic experience”

Marrakech Magic Theater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This unforgettable evening begins as you enter into a historic speakeasy. The perfect setting for a remarkable evening of entertainment. Upon entering you will be escorted into the Oasis Lounge where you will witnesses world class sleight-of-hand magic prior to the main performance. A wonderful assortment of drinks and Moroccan appetizers are available for purchase prior to the show. You will then be escorted into our intimate showroom for Jay Alexander‘s unforgettable performance of magic, mentalism, and psychological feats such as human lie detection. This evening of entertainment will lift your spirits and leave a lasting memory. Find out why Bono of U2 called it “Astonishing” and Monty Python’s John Cleese said it was “Wonderful!" You'll witness intriguing feats of mentalism, sleight-of-hand miracles, and throughout, Jay Alexander’s clean comedy will keep you laughing! Get your tickets today!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An intimate magic experience”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Marrakech theatre. We arrived about 30 minutes before the show started. Peter introduced himself to us as we enjoyed our drinks. He then performed card trick for us personally.

Afterwards he moved us into the small theatre it seems like it fits about 40 people. He performed his show involving many members of the audience. The show was excellent, leaving everyone guessing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dexytexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    86
    19
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun, Fun, Fun”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A great show. Personable magican. Small venue. He asks you there an hour ealy to order snacks/drinks from the restaurant he shares space with - it cut down on our viewing the Chinese New Year Parade, so I am giving it 4 stars for that reason only. Another pleasant evening spent with up close magic.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A PERFECT Way to Spend an Evening in San Francisco!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Each year, a group of Bay Area friends heads to SF for a weekend getaway. After reading wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to spend Saturday night with magician Peter Morrison at the Marrakech Magic Theater. We all pronounced it one of our best choices yet!

From the moment you descend the stairs into the Moroccan themed lounge, you feel you're in for something unique. Our friendly hostess took our drink and appetizer order (yummy hummus and fresh bread) and, a few moments later, Peter was introducing himself to each group and giving us a taste of his engaging style of magic. Yes, he did fabulous card tricks that whetted our appetite for more, but he also, quite comfortably, got to know his audience - before the show even started.

Once he led us into the small, intimate theater, these introductory moments payed off tenfold as he seamlessly wove members of the audience into his show. He also, quite masterfully, taught us a bit about the history of magic in San Francisco. His passion for what he does is genuine and contagious. The magic he performs is classic and traditional, but nonetheless completely entertaining. My jaw was constantly needing to be propped back up and my head was often shaking as in "HOW DID HE DO THAT!!??"

As our group walked back to our hotel, and later on as we enjoyed a night cap, we continued to talk about how polished and professional the show was, what an engaging host and mesmerizing magician Peter Morrison was and what a perfect night out in San Francisco we just had!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank twink4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of San Francisco”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We just spent a few days in SF and visited Peter Morrison's magic show. A friend of us had seen the show and highly recommended a visit. What a treat it was. We have traveled all over the world, have seen many different types of shows, but I have to say this is one of a kind. The show starts officially at 8:30 pm, but make sure you get there at 7:30 pm so you can meet the owner and magician himself. Peter Morrison is such a delight and this job is made for him. You can feel that he loves to do this and to meet other people and have them enjoy a good time. He personally seats you to make sure everybody gets a good seat and can be included in the show. My husband and I got to help him in one of the tricks and it was so amazing. The show is really entertaining and you will be amazed by the tricks. Time went by really fast and we were enjoying every minute of it. Go if you are in SF as you will otherwise miss out on something special!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacation_addicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun evening”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We enjoyed the evening and the magic. The intimate setting makes it special. Personally I would have preferred more magic and less patter, but Peter Morrison is pleasant and entertaining and I'd recommend his show.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seventyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marrakech Magic Theater also viewed

 

Been to Marrakech Magic Theater? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing