We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Everything You Need to See and More!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron Custom Tours

Blue Heron Custom Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Private, custom tours in and around San Francisco, Napa and Sonoma Wine Country, Muir Woods and Sausalito, Monterey and Carmel, Yosemite, the California coast, and other destinations in Northern California. Each tour is customized so you visit the sights you want to see. Go where you want to go!
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything You Need to See and More!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Took the half day private tour with Rick on the day of our arrival in SF. He met us at our hotel in his Honda minivan and off we went. First to a great Italian take out on Columbus Ave and then on with the tour. We traveled form Knob Hill to Coit Tower to the Golden Gate and every where in between. We particlarly enjoyed the view form Lands End and the ice cream in Golden Gate Park. Rick has an excellant knowledge of the city and its history and obviously enjoys being your host. He is most accomodating and flexible. We also took his reommendations for eating and doing things on our own, such as Fillmore and Union Streets and were never disappointed. His advice about the drive to Carmel were right on. By the end of the 4 hour tour we were very comfortable in the city and ready to venture out on our own for the next 5 days.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueHeronSF, Owner at Blue Heron Custom Tours, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Thanks for the nice review. I am glad you enjoyed your tour of San Francisco and had a good trip to Monterey and Carmel. Brioche Bakery in North Beach continues to be one of my favorites. I'll probably stop there for a pastry on my way to today's tour. Happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a FANTASTIC family day - incredible views with a great guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My family had never been to San Francisco and because our trip was relatively short (4 days) we really wanted to maximize our time and see as many sites as possible. Rick got to know a little about our family and designed the tour based on our interests. In 8 hours, we saw the most incredible views of the California coast (from the Golden Gate Bridge to Muir Beach Lookout and Mt. Tamalpais), took a moderate hike through Muir Woods and saw the Redwood Forest, had lunch at a cute little cafe in Stinson Beach, visited a Marine Mammal Rescue and finished the day with an hour to browse around Sausalito. I would HIGHLY recommend Rick and Blue Heron Custom Tours. He is incredibly knowledgeable about the area and truly customized the tour to meet our family's needs. It was a perfect ending to our Thanksgiving vacation!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank LHughes126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueHeronSF, Owner at Blue Heron Custom Tours, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you for the kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your tour of Muir Woods and West Marin County. West Marin is one of my favorite parts of the Bay Area, which few visitors from afar see. I am glad you let me take you to these beautiful spots.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
“Terrific day in Muir Woods & Sonoma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I booked a tour as a anniversary gift for my husband and Rick exceeded all of our expectations: knowledgeable, friendly and professional... a truly great guide! We hope to plan another outing soon!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank GabrielaCA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueHeronSF, Owner at Blue Heron Custom Tours, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for the kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your day in Muir Woods and Wine Country. Think of the beautiful fall colors when you drink the wine you bought.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Napa Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We traveled to Napa in one day and Rick was exceptional as a tour guide and very accomodationg. All of us thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Rick included Bell winery in our tour and it was one of the best tours any of us have been on in Napa or Sonoma. What a great tour service and exceptional staff! Thanks Rick for a great day!

Dale and Linda

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Wine tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Rick did a fantastic job setting up our tour. He is very informative on the wine country and San Francisco. When leaving San Francisco, Rick pointed out landmarks and continued to tell us about the countryside on our way to Napa and surrounding areas. The entire tour was fabulous.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Debby_D_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Heron Custom Tours also viewed

 

Been to Blue Heron Custom Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing