We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, unfortunately bed bugs, never again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orange Village Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Orange Village Hostel
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Good location, unfortunately bed bugs, never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I was very happy with the hotel at first. It was just next door of the Hilton at Union Square and five minutes away from Union Square and the Powel Street Bart Station. I had a single room with a private bathroom and both of them were in a good condition. There was a huge flat screen TV that I never used. Internet was for free.

Unfortunately it turned out that the room had bed bugs. At first I thought it was mosquitoes but it got worse. I am suffering right now .... I will never go there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    83
    71
    22
    24
See reviews for
13
46
62
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This hostel was overall very clean & in a great location.
The staff were always friendly & willing to help.
We stayed in a private dorm with a private bathroom that was in good condition.
The rooms did have a sterile feel, no TV & terrible green coloured linen but clean which is most important.
Nice bonuses were free Internet & WiFi & good strong hair dryers to borrow from reception!
The elevator is old so we did avoid using it at all costs (except checking in and out with our suitcases)

The only complaint we would have is the noise level at night (on the street).
Not much the hostel can do about that though.
Close to some good food at reasonable prices and nice bars & retail stores.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raffa-ella2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Location was good, a good area and nearby to Market Street as well as Union Square, shopping, transportation and restaurants. However this also made the room very loud at night, as it was too hot to sleep with the windows closed.
Room was basic and average, bathroom (which we paid extra for) was TINY - it's a good thing we were all small people. Beds were squeaky and not very comfortable. But the room had all the basic amenities - two beds, two desks, sink, mirror, dresser, TV that didn't work, fridge and microwave.
"Included" breakfast was waffles and cereal like Coco Puffs but as I'm gluten intolerant none of this helped me. However they do supply milk if you want to bring your own cereal, which I did. They don't supply much else.
A bit overpriced for what we got but overall a good, basic hostel room,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne_elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Rooms:
Stayed in a 4-person female dorm (without ensuite) for a week. The place was clean and minimal. Bunk beds was creaky for the top one and the blanket provided was really comfortable. Downside was that we realized they do not send it for washing after a guest leaves so who knows how many people have been sleeping using the same blanket before you (gross).

Rooms are also not airconditioned but with the cool weather in San Francisco, that was not a problem. There are storage lockers in the dorms, so bring a lock along to store your valuables.

Did experience some problems with noise from outside (but within the hostel compound) which was audible and highly annoying when you're trying to sleep.

The shower/bathrooms are also clean but not equipped with a wash basin. So after every visit to the toilet, you need to go back to your room to wash your hands.

Location/Amenities:
Very conveniently located. 5-10mins walk to Union Square. Macy's, Westfield, Nordstrom, Powell Cable Car Station etc are all in the vicinity.

Free breakfast at the hostel every morning from 7am - 10am. They serve waffle battles, juice, cereals and milk. Not too bad. Laundry facilities also available (free detergent).

There's a lift (an old and cranky one which they claim to be undergoing beautification) in the building too which is awesome for people with luggages.
Service:

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jklqp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Well, it has been quite a while since I have posted a review on www.tripadvisor.com, however my recent experience with Orange Village Hostel has motived me to log-on and write this review.

Actually, I think that (attached) pictures say more then a thousand words so I will try to keep my review short:

On short notice I had decided to spend a weekend in San Francisco. All my favorite hotels in town were already fully booked so I did some research on the internet and and came up with Orange Village Hostel. The website of this hostel looked professional and the pictures describing the rooms gave me the strong impression that the whole place was recently refurbished. This was also confirmed on the website of the hostel: "Newly added services, an improved experience and newly renovated interior & furniture."

So I went ahead and booked a double-room for USD 125,-- per night, which I thought was already a lot for a hostel but OK considering the circumstances (high season in San Francisco).

Well, as soon as I entered to lobby of the hostel I already got the strong feeling that there was something wrong about the way this hostel was presented on the internet and that I was actually completely misled by the presentation of this place online.

The whole place seems to have been a completely run-down hotel as you would actually imagine for the Tenderloin-district in San Francisco. Then the management changed and decided to "convert" it into a hostel.

The building makes a really bad impression as soon as you enter it. The elevator is very old - the paint peels off everywhere (ironically you will find a poster there apologizing for this fact).

As soon as I entered my double-room I was shocked. Instead of being recently refurbished all the furniture was old and shabby. The window (which by the way was full of bird droppings) of of the bedroom was facing - not as advertised on the internet the street - but a wall (appr. 8 feet away) from the neighboring hotel. As you can see from attached photos this wall was completely covered dirty, the window boards had piles of bird droppings on them which certainly is a health concern. The bed was very short (less then 6 feet).

The bathroom was even worse. I opened the door to it and a smelly cloud was my welcome. The window of the bathroom faced the same wall, but you were not even able to open it (who wants to do that anyway with all the bird droppings outside). Instead it was fully covered with bird droppings and there was also one big crack which was "repaired" with a piece of toilet paper.

All in all the situation was a big mess...and all this for USD 125,--! From a financial point of view I actually felt betrayed but what was of much more concern for me was the fact that there was NO ventilation in the room and opening the windows was not an option due to serious health-concerns.

Since it was already quite late and I HAD to stay somewhere, I spent about 6 hours in the bed and then left immediately the next morning.

What really amazes me is the fact that the public authorities in San Francisco seem to be fine with precarious situations like these...how can they issue permits to places like these? I am seriously thinking of reporting this!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grungtheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#126 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
#4 of 51 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Village Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Village Hostel

Property: Orange Village Hostel
Address: 411 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,142 - ₹ 10,407
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Orange Village Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Orange Village Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Village Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing