We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

A Friend in Town Tours
Ranked #87 of 290 Tours in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy customized private tours of San Francisco (incl. places the big buses can't go), Napa& Sonoma wine country, Silicon Valley, Carmel, Big Sur. Unusual itineraries include: locales from Hitchcock's "Vertigo"; Russian River Wine Country; Filoli gardens. You can be picked up at your home, the airport, your hotel, even at your cruise ship dock--or dropped off there. We are especially accommodating to those with limited mobility, older folks, energetic children, foodies, photographers...and offer a warm dry alternative on rainy days. Come experience the off-the-beaten-path wineries where they'll treat you like VIPs, great gardens, legions of quaint Victorians, The Castro, hang-gliders, lighthouses, beautiful hidden vistas. Been here many times before? You still haven't seen all of our wonders.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dublin, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We toured San Francisco, Muir Woods, Sonoma and Napa Valley. Jesse was very informative and very pleasant to spend the day with.

We would tour with A Friend in Town any time we are in San Francisco.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
“The best way to explore the San Francisco Area”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Having been to San Francisco before and only having a small amount of time, I wanted to see very particular spots such as Point Reyes, the Marin Headlands, and Muir Woods but I also wanted someone to share with me some insight into places and spots that were more off-the-beaten path.

When I inquired, Jesse was completely upfront about what we would be able to see within a day and I provided him with what I felt was most important and let him takeover from there. We were both a little concerned about the weather but the day turned out to be amazing with plenty of time to take photographs and enjoy the views.

Along the way, Jesse is a wealth of knowledge and would offer interesting history and perspective around places or points of interest.

If you're short on time and not sure where to go but have a couple of interests in mind, I would recommend contacting A Friend In Town because it's the only way you can combine what you're really interested in with lots of opportunity explore and learn about what you may not know about.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ehren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best tour in San Francisco”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We had a great day with Jesse, our 2 children aged 3 and 9 had an awesome day also. Very informative, saw the sights we wanted to and stayed as long as we wanted to also. thanks Jesse - highly recommended.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank glen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypruis
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“They do what "it says on the can"”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We were looking to tour some of the more unusual parts of SFO - looking at street art, architecture and not often visited neighbourhoods. Jessie adapted to our needs extremely well. He was knowledable about a city he clearly loved and entertaining with funny annecdotes and insights. He showed things we would have never found on our own. He also lived upto the billing of "A friend in Town" by coming back to us the following day with information we had requested but he needed to research. A little more expensive than an ordinary tour but well worth it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank AsgataTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofton, Maryland
1 review
“Fantastic tour...two thumbs up...highly recommended!”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I am a tour escort who hired Jesse as a step-on-tour guide for my moderately-sized bus group. Our full day city tour also included a visit to Golden Gate National Park, Muir Woods and lunch in Sausalito. Jesse certainly knows the city well and we felt as if he gave us his all, and then some. We were extremely pleased with the manner in which he directed the tour and all the exciting sites we saw. "A Friend in Town" he was...

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Zandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Friend in Town Tours also viewed

 

Been to A Friend in Town Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing