We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day in Monterrey and Carmel”

A Friend in Town Tours
Ranked #88 of 285 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy customized private tours of San Francisco (incl. places the big buses can't go), Napa& Sonoma wine country, Silicon Valley, Carmel, Big Sur. Unusual itineraries include: locales from Hitchcock's "Vertigo"; Russian River Wine Country; Filoli gardens. You can be picked up at your home, the airport, your hotel, even at your cruise ship dock--or dropped off there. We are especially accommodating to those with limited mobility, older folks, energetic children, foodies, photographers...and offer a warm dry alternative on rainy days. Come experience the off-the-beaten-path wineries where they'll treat you like VIPs, great gardens, legions of quaint Victorians, The Castro, hang-gliders, lighthouses, beautiful hidden vistas. Been here many times before? You still haven't seen all of our wonders.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Westmont, Illinois
2 reviews
“Wonderful day in Monterrey and Carmel”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Six of us went with Jesse to Monterrey, Carmel and Pebble Beach. We were picked up right on time at our hotel and had a bit of a city tour on our way to the highway. Once on the road, Jesse gave us options as to our itinerary. We had a full day seeing the breathtaking sights of the Pacific Coast. This is the only way to travel. We learned many things about the area, as Jesse is a wealth of information. We highly recommend his tours.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank dmleamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4pourlevraicandide, Guest Relations Manager at A Friend in Town Tours, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
I certainly appreciate that our guests have taken the time to share their experiences with the traveling public, and hope that they (and their friends, colleagues) will return to the Bay Area as we have a rich variety of beautiful destinations and opportunities to learn about our natural environment, architecture, colorful history, more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Vertigo Tour 1957”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I wanted to suprise my husband for his 60th birthday.....we were in San Francisco and his favorite movie of all times is VERTIGO.....so we had to see the sights. Jessie was the man!!! My husband and 3 sons are still talking about the great time we had in San Francisco..but mostly how awesome the VERTIGO tour was...my husband was so excited he was ready to jump into the bay to save Kim Novak!...Jessie did a great job and has a vast knowledge of the beautiful city.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoyhoy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, Convienent, Friendly and Awesome - The best and only way to see SF”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This was a fantastic tour. Jesse did a fantastic job of showing us the best spots in San Francisco, where the tour buses can't get to. Every location was discussed in detail, and showed us all the different parts of our half day tour. I didn't even know there where house boats in SF! Jesse pick us up from the house we were staying at, on time, which had a perfect amount of room for a car seat and pram. We stopped off where we wanted to, took pictures where we wanted, better than any tour bus. I recommend this to tour to everyone! Highly recommend Jesse as tour guide and driver, fully accommodating to your needs.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank terabhap24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“highly recommended! very well organized SF & surroundings tours”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We enjoyed 2 days with Jesse: San Francisco & surroundings tour & Napa Valley wine tasting tour. Both tours were amazing - Jesse knows a lot, he is a very good company. We let him plan the whole 2 days and enjoyed every single minute of it: very well-organized and interesting. He took us to very good restaurants for lunch. We also liked very much the wineries that he took us too in Napa.
We highly recommend to take a tour with Jesse - you will not regret it.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank KSB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Amazing trip - would highly recommend.”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Our tour with Jesse Warr to Monterey and Carmel was the funnest day of our trip to San Francisco. Jesse was friendly and informative and the entire day was one beautiful sight after another with just the right amount of stops along the way. We had a relaxing lunch in Carmel and continued down the coast. Amazing opportunity for our daughter to experience the California coast line.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank pdrake1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Friend in Town Tours also viewed

 

Been to A Friend in Town Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing