We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time out - Could stand some improvements”
Review of The Marsh

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Marsh
Ranked #247 of 729 things to do in San Francisco
Attraction details
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I wish I could give this theatre a higher rating because I REALLY enjoyed the performance. (Grumpy old Jew by Charlie Varon) However I felt the theatre itself was lacking in several area. The first was that we couldn't by tickets online. It was Saturday morning when we were researching plays to see for Sunday night. The Marsh lets you buy tickets over the phone but only on Mon. - Fri. 9 to 5. So the only thing we could do was go to the theatre when the box office opened which was 30 mins before the show started and hope they weren't sold out. Which they were! But we waited to see if there were some no shows and we got tickets on standby. Actually got 2 good seats right in front too. :) But seriously, it is SO easy to sell tickets online now days - why wouldn't they?
The theatre was very small and a little run down. (More of a black box theatre really.) But still it was great place for being what it is; a small, intimate community theatre. The staff was very kind and helpful also. We had a good time and I'd defiantly go back.

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank RacheAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

8 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

One of the best entertainment deal in San Francisco The Marsh is the internationally known for solo performance theater. It's almost impossible to see a show at The Marsh that won't give you something to think about and and realize what a great theater experience can be.

With two stages in San Francisco and two in Berkeley, both near BART and public transportation, it's easy to get to them. Whether it's Charlie Varon, Dan Hoyle or a new comer The Marsh is always entertaining at a good price.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank HRP100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This review is for the Berkeley location of The Marsh, located at 2120 Allston Way, Berkeley.

If you're looking for an inexpensive evening out with a friend(s), go to the Marsh's website and see what shows are lined up. The theater is small and they tend to have one-person shows. Plan an evening of dinner at Gather, (or one of many good restaurants nearby), then enjoy the show. I mention Gather because they are well reviewed and just a short walk from The Marsh. After the show, you can go out for coffee. This is all in Downtown Berkeley.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank chun w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I recently saw Brian Copeland's "The Waiting Period" at The Marsh. What a delightful surprise. The Marsh is a tiny little theater that is just what the doctor ordered. A venue for new and unfolding artists, The Marsh seats, maybe 100+ people, so everyone is in the first row! Loved the show and wouldn't hesitate to see another performance there ANYTIME!

Date of experience: November 2012
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Caught a provocative performance of All My Children by improvisor Matt Smith. This 90 minute show was a funny, evocative exploration of paths not taken - a childless man of a certain age looks up all his old girlfriends, arranges to meet their kids and announces he's their father!

Have enjoyed numerous performances over the years at the Marsh, which often has more than a half dozen works in rotation. Mostly solo shows, productions run the gamut from comedy to serious, from Brian Copeland's Not a Genuine Black Man and Don Reed's East 14th St , biographical explorations of differing aspects of growing up Black in the Bay Area, to Dan Hoyle's The Real Americans exploring Small-Town America, to Marga Gomez's Not Getting Any Younger.

The Marsh tag line is "a breeding ground for new performance", and is a premier showcase for performance artists. In the words of the SF CHronicle "TStars have been born on it's intimate stage". There are 2 branches, one in Berkeley adjacent to the UCB campus, and one in San Francisco in the Mission district.

There's something on at the Marsh most evenings. They also offer classes in developing your own work for performance and comedy and writing your own story.

Date of experience: July 2011
Thank beardiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Marsh also viewed

 

Been to The Marsh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing