We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful when you book a room - they won't keep it for you even that you made a reservation”
Review of The Dakota Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dakota Hotel
Ranked #192 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I traveled with a friend, and because of the high season, we reserved a place for 3 nights in a 4 bed dorm some days before we arrived. When we arrived the hostel (that was at night), the guy at the reception told us that they don't have a dorm of 4, only a bigger one... and regarding the next 2 nights they are sorry, but they DON'T HAVE PLACE at all because of the high season!

Even that we reserved a room, they kept saying that they didn't promise us rooms, and copy-paste answers like "on high seasons we don't book rooms, so we can't promise you continuousness of nights".
Their reservations by phone were made on notes instead of a reservation book or a computer program.

Eventually, they said that if we don't like their policy we can go to other hotel.
That's what we did.

I really advice everyone to be very careful when booking a room there...

Besides that, the room was ok.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 71 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2011

Heart sank as we checked in & found our room. Shabby, dingy and room not cleaned. when we went up. Left our stuff locked in the room & went out exploring. Very handy to Union Square and all the transport options and a nice part of town. On our return found our duty free alcohol was missing & the TV didnt work. TV put right & we had a visit from the head cleaner, promising action on the duty free. Four days later, when we left, nothing had happened. Really passing the buck until we left. However, after a 4 day tour we were back at a hotel round the corner & after complaining again finally got paid out. So, disappointing there. However, the room, with a double & a single bed, was spotless & the beds were 1st class. Shower over a funny old bath, but worked a treat & the floor stayed dry! Had a view out over the street & the windows opened. Not too noisy & some good restaurants in the vicinity. Breakfast was next door at a sister hotel and it was a real dive. However, there was fresh fruit salad everyday & a variety of breads.bagels, muffins etc so couldn't complain. Overall, other hotels were better value for money but we managed.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annenewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The room was so disgusting that I didn't think twice about throwing my trash on the floor. The bathtub was rusty and one leg was being supported by an old moldy magazine to keep the tub from wobbling. Shower curtain had apparently been pissed on multiple times. Moldy. Moldy Moldy.
Oh, and did I mention that our room was broken into TWICE?!
The window lock was broken. Someone got onto the roof and climbed down the fire escape and decided to climb into our window in the middle of the night. Suprise! Happened the next day, as well.
The mattress had collapsed in on itself basically, the middle was laying on the floor.
The sheets felt grimey, were covered in what seemed to look like blood or poop. Probably both.
No temperature control in the rooms, which would have been fine if the radiator which was right in front of our bed hadn't been turned on full blast... all night. We had to open both windows all the way and we were still sweating.
Nice view from the windows though...
Front row access to the bum fights that were going on all thru the night.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LindseyNIchole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I stayed at Dakota Hotel on my way to BAJA California and I had such a great time.
In the center of the City, you are close to the Pier and surrounded by nice places to eat.
The dorms are quiet and have very nice shower.
Their breakfast is incredible and fill you up for the day!!
People at the hotel are very friendly and will help you building your Trip in SF and outside as well.

Have a good Trip!

Jean

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fanjo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Dakota Hotel is one of the best hotel I have never been. First of all, the room are cheap, clean, and silent; second, the breakfast is AMAAAAAAAAAAZIIING; third, the people who managed the hotel are very nice, very helpful, and always take time to speak with you, give some advice, and tell you what to do in San Francisco but in all California.
Thank you again for this experience!
Travelers from the whole world, if you look for a nice adress, go there and you won't be desappointed!

Pierre, French, Traveler to Baja California instead of Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#191 of 230 in San Francisco
153 reviews
Layne Hotel
#202 of 230 in San Francisco
260 reviews
The Fitzgerald Hotel
#169 of 230 in San Francisco
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
414 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#196 of 230 in San Francisco
65 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#189 of 230 in San Francisco
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dakota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dakota Hotel

Address: 606 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 8,859 - ₹ 14,657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dakota Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dakota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing