We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“the reason to stay - Best location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Ranked #36 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the reason to stay - Best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stay mostly at Marriotts for business and mostly the services are good but the location isnt .. .
But this one @ Union Square is awesome ..you step out you have so many options for pub , restaurants .. Fisherans Wharf is so close . I was staying @ 23rd floor ans the view was great ..
And I really enjoyed it..the rooms are small but you need to compromise it for the amazing location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    747
    187
    49
    23
See reviews for
428
456
85
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
220 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

There are plenty of hotels that you can stay in, in Union Square, but by far and away, I'd be very happy to stay at this Marriott property again!
We came out to San Fran for business and booked at the Marriott Union Square, in the Club Level Rooms. The bump up in price from a standard room is by far and away worth every little penny to upgrade. The cost to upgrade every day we were there was less then breakfast would've cost at the hotel and we were able to enjoy the "Club" throughout the day!
To begin, our plane was 45 minutes early arriving and we made our way to the hotel, in the hopes that one of our five rooms might, on the off chance, be ready.
Here we met Susan, who was incredibly helpful, sweet, fast and nice! She moved some things around and found us not one, but two rooms that we could start with- which was beyond helpful to throw our bags in before our first appointment.
We ran up to the "Club" quickly after that to grab a water and met Daniel, who was one of the team members in charge of the club at the time. He continued the trail that Susan had blazed with being incredibly helpful, with all kinds of hints to get around the city, what to do, what to do, what to maybe avoid and things that were definitely must-see items. It was also helpful to run into Daniel because he let me know that the car service that we booked for the following day could actually be backed up a half an hour because the traveling time was not as long as the company had told me to plan for.
We were helped, several times, by the entire team at the front desk, and the bellmen, with directions of how to get where we were going, how to find the nearest cable car stop and how to get to the destination we were trying to find. They were always at the ready to help each and every guest.
Every single team member at this hotel was nice, helpful and efficient.
The Club level breakfast was awesome! Scrambled eggs, homemade oatmeal, toast/bagels, pastries, fresh fruit, coffe/tea - just about anything you'd order from room service. We did not get to enjoy lunch there any of the days we were there, nor what they had around dinner time, but snacks and dessert were great and it was always helpful to be able to run up and grab a water/diet soda, etc throughout the day at the drop of a hat.
The rooms were very spacious and clean and the beds were wonderful! I'm not a great sleeper at hotels to begin with but the beds were very comfortable and I actually got a great night's sleep. I understand that because we were on one of the "club" floors that we had a room that was high up above all the traffic noise below, and the room was pretty quiet as hotel rooms go.
I read many accounts of the bathrooms being on the small side and I would say this is the very tiny, only bad thing about this entire hotel, which is really saying a lot. The counter space, at least for this lady, is really quite small and there really isn't much room for make up and toiletries, etc. They even had more room to move it over, but it is located about five inches from the shower. I did find, if you move the shower curtain over to the opposite wall, which seemed like the sensible thing to do, that it gave you the feel of having more room and not being pushed out by the shower curtain.
This hotel also has a computer in the lobby to print off boarding passes, etc and was efficient as well!

All in all, this is an absolutely wonderful hotel, it's in a great location to cable cars, restaurants, stores, shopping etc that I'd stay here again in an instant. The team that works here represents their hotel very well and they should be proud of how wonderfully they represent the brand. (I work in marketing, can you tell?). But I'd tell anyone looking for a great hotel, that this is a terrific place to stay!

Room Tip: Check in to a Club Level Room! It's worth every penny of the few extra dollars and will save you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BudGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
189 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is a great Marriott. Better than the one on 4th. It's recently renovated and the rooms are great. The beds are so comfortable and the room quiet. The staff are very welcoming and pleasant. I haven't tried the restaurant so can't recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. At either end of the hallway. Not so much for the view, but for the quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
179 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I'm just back from a week in downtown San Francisco on business and I can't really complaint about this hotel. It's clean, staff is courteous. A special thanks to Diana at the front desk who was able to quickly accomodate my request for a high floor at an early check-in time.

The location is very good, close to Union Square, Market street, and Powell-Mason cable car line just around the corner. The room was clean, bedding extra comfy. Nice flatscreen TV with HDMI input to play movies from the computer (bring your cable!). The room was a little small (one of the smallest room on the floor, due to location of elevators), but it was okay, considering I was there by myself. Extra charge for Internet access: 12.95 per day. It seems valet parking is available, but the price may be outrageous.

Pros: location, cleanliness, bedding, staff courteousy

Cons: no pool or spa - that could have been a big plus after a long day of walking the city.

I would have given this hotel a 5 should the price had been more decent.

Room Tip: Request floors 20 and up for a good view. The view of the city in the back is very nice. You actuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vezich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

very friendly helpful staff!
Convenient to cable car, other site seeing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,188 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,641 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Union Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Property: San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Address: 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3901 (Formerly Hotel 480)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,432 - ₹ 37,372
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel offers a prime location with San Francisco's most vibrant address. Hop aboard a cable car or enjoy Union Square shopping just steps from the hotel. Also near popular Nob Hill and Chinatown, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square is an excellent choice for hosting meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco
Crowne Plaza Union Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing