We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Book Ahead...you'll lose your money!!!!!!!”

Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 55.00*
and up
Bike the Golden Gate Bridge: San Francisco to Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bike the Bridge! At Blazing Saddles Bike Rental and Tours we want our guests to come away from a day on our bikes feeling as if they have just experienced the very best that our city has to offer. Whether it is a local resident enjoying our state of the art equipment or a visitor seeing the city for the first time, we encourage our riders to enjoy the bike friendly environment of San Francisco. Blazing Saddles was one of the first in the industry to develop a proprietary map of suggested routes and points of interest, and we have been a major pioneer in promoting cycling through the Presidio National Park, over the Golden Gate Bridge and into Sausalito and Tiburon. All of our seven locations in San Francisco have easy access to a car-free bike path that winds around the city by the bay. We have the largest fleet of bikes in San Francisco, including state of the art electric bikes, tandems and kids' bikes. We also have high performance road and mountain bikes for those who want to explore Golden Gate National Recreation Area and Mt. Tamalpais State Park. We rent bikes 365 days a year and are open at 8am every day. For those that want something more, we offer a daily tour with a friendly and knowledgeable guide. No reservations necessary.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
moose jaw, saskatchewan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Don't Book Ahead...you'll lose your money!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Never got a chance to try out Blazing Saddles. Planned a trip to SF around a family wedding and the only day for the bike trip was March 1 so booked five bikes for that day. Been watching the forecast and today (the 28th of February 2012) the forecast shows definite rain for Thursday. Immediately emailed Blazing Saddles...was advised I could rebook on a different day, or use the coupon in NY or Monteray (seriously?) but if I wanted to cancel their was a $15 charge PER BIKE for cancelling. That is pretty close to a 50% cancellation fee, even with 48 hours notice. I texted my daughter who went early and she says there are bikes everywhere in San Francisco. Why book ahead and loose $87 dollars. Crazy. I hate ripoff joints.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JLMmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,699
    749
    254
    147
    269
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highlight of our San Francisco Trip”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Rented bikes here and had the most wonderful day- biking along San Francisco city coast, over Golden Gate bridge, lunch in Sausalito, visit house boats and ferry ride back. For $32, we had bikes all day & the most excellent and cheerful customer service, great info. Blazing Saddles provided comfy and well-maintained bikes with helmets, locks and maps. The staff were so encouraging, cheerful, and helpful. THE BEST- thanks!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank appletonridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must do..”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was my third time renting from Blazing Saddles-Hyde Street. Lauren, Ramon and Josh are easy going yet very up beat. Bikes have always worked well. The trip across the Bridge is a must do if you are taking your family to San Francisco. My 8 year old and I rode on a tandem bike. My 11 year old could have easily managed a single but wanted to ride tandem with mom. My 13 year old rode by herself all the way to Sausalito. We took the ferry back and the girls thought it was the highlight of their trip to SF.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimmyblazing9, Manager at Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Hi,
Thank you for your great feedback and for repeatedly returning to Blazing Saddles! We are glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you and your family for an enjoyable ride to Sausalito. We take pride in our equipment and our staff and we are glad that your experience met your expectations. Our Hyde location is our most family friendly location, so we are glad that our goals were met in making this an experience of a lifetime. We hope to see you all again here at Blazing Saddles and possibly getting you to the historic town of Tiburon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So much fun, easy, so much seen.”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This company is efficient, well maintained bikes, easy to ride with locks if you stop off along the way. They also gave great instructions on the route to follow and friendly service. They have a number of locations in the Fishermans Wharf area that you won't have trouble finding them.

Price is also great.

We were given tickets to catch the ferry back from Sausalito if we wanted to so no need to work out how to buy tickets when you get to the ferry terminal. If you don't use them you don't get charged.

Also if you use the Open Top Sightseeing Tour San Francisco Hop on Hop off bus you get your first hour bike hire free!!!!

Thanks to Marc who sorted us out in the shop!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“very helpful with young children”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We rented bikes two days in a row from Blazing Saddles. We rented a tandem that my husband and son rode. They were very helpful to make sure that the bike was the right size for my son. The second day-they directed us to go to a location that was right next to our hotel because they could send the right bike to that location and it would save us walking back after our bike ride. We biked down embarcadero the first day to the ferry building marketplace and the second day over the GG bridge. They were very hassle free and friendly.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cofamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours also viewed

 

Been to Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing