We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #109 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I booked this hotel after reading the many good reviews on tripadvisor. It didn't disappoint! The location is great--very close to buslines--easy to get around the city from there. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The office staff were very friendly and welcoming--gave us a map of the area and suggested where to go and not to go. I knew going in that the breakfast wasn't that great--didn't stay here for that. We ate at Peter D's across and down the street from the hotel--the best pancakes I've ever had. This is a great value for location and what you get. We didn't stay in our room alot, so it was perfect for us. We would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    330
    113
    36
    19
See reviews for
181
223
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This was a great choice for our family of 4, with kids ages 9 and 12. We had a car and the free parking was an enormous savings! We tried to use public transport whenever possible - the bus to Fisherman's Wharf was on the same block as the motel. We waited 1 minute and were at the Wharf less than 10 minutes later. (The office attendant told us about the bus when he heard we were heading to the Wharf.) The cable car was just a few blocks away.

The fridge and microwave in the room were terrific for our family. We didn't have to rely on restaurants every night when we were tired of eating out. We appreciated the complimentary breakfast but we went to Walgreen's on the corner for cereal and milk to supplement the breakfast offerings of instant oatmeal, fresh fruit, OJ, coffee, packaged muffins, fruit bars, yogurt. (Our only disappointment was that the motel's offerings were sugary - would have appreciated plain oatmeal, plain yogurt, etc).

There is a good selection of reasonably priced and family-friendly restaurants just around the corner (Chinese take-out, Thai, pizza, burgers, upscale). We walked all over with our kids and the area appeared and felt very safe - lots of residents grocery shopping, doing errands, etc.

The office staff was outstanding. Cordial, helpful and knowledgeable. Happily kept our valuables while we were out during the day, offered patient and useful advice about directions, public transport, and insider tips. We all slept well and did not notice any street noise. We turned on the a/c at night and the fan must have blocked it.

My top priority was cleanliness and the Castle was spotless - everywhere. This isn't the Hyatt or the Mark - it's a small motel - no robes, tempurpedic mattresses or 24-hour room service, but clean and comfortable, with everything you truly need.

We are very experienced travelers with zero tolerance for bad attitudes, poor service and iffy cleanliness. We have NO criticisms of the Castle Inn at all - we will return and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fastidiousmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woking
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Our room was well equipped, everything worked and we were very comfortable here. The location is fairly central and the staff were very helpful. Parking was a little challenging, but free. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NaldoWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I have rated this place a 4 because my husband wasn't so keen.. I think he would have preferred a place closer to Fisherman's Wharf, but he doesn't understand the cost/benefit ratios of the area like I do after all of me research! This place was in an excellent location - very safe, right next to the best restaurant street - and the BEST "Rice Pudding Shop" which we ate at every night after dinner.. We were walking distance to Fishermans Wharf too. Just a tip if heading to Alcatraz (prebook!!). For our family of 4 this was a good choice, and the service staff were very friendly and helpful - don't expect too much from the breakfast though!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Here_we_Go2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Found this hotel on Hotels.com which offered a good nightly rate for such a good location but found the hotel's website which offerred an even better rate. Booked on the hotel's website and saved at least 25%. Hotel is located in the Russain Hill neighborhood on Broadway. Walk 10-12 minutes west on Broadway and you're in China Town, just two and a half blocks from the Powell/Hyde cable car line, city bus stops across the street, wharf is 10 minutes away by bus, etc....so a good location. Hotel offers free WiFi and breakfast (generic continental) as well as rooms that were very clean. Free parking which saves additional $$ because it seems that most other hotels charged a daily rate. For a basic no frills hotel in the heart of San Fran. this one is worth you time.

***booked in December and paid around $79 per night but prices will rise to the $169+ in high season***

Room Tip: Book at hotel's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
550 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 227 in San Francisco
957 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#128 of 227 in San Francisco
763 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#106 of 227 in San Francisco
474 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#117 of 227 in San Francisco
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Property: Castle Inn
Address: 1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,079 - ₹ 17,298
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described by guests as "the ideal place to stay in San Francisco," Castle Inn offers beautiful rooms, a fantastic location, and wonderful, friendly service. With FREE PARKING, FREE wireless internet access, in-room coffee, cable TV with HBO, hairdryers, iron/boards, mini-fridge/freezers, microwaves, a/c, and mini-breakfast, you have all of the comforts of home. Perfectly situated for your SF visit, we are within walking distance to Fisherman?s Wharf, Chinatown, Cable Cars, Crookedest Street, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel San Francisco
Castle Motel San Francisco
Castle Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing