We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally satisfied!”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #107 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Totally satisfied!”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

By sharing my recommendation I do not contend that the Castle Inn is a five-star accomodation. But this hotel has a number of great advantages:
- It's all about people, right? You can expect very friendly young and helpful people.
- Plenty of room space. I was surprised because even the bathroom is spacy.
- Great location. Not only close to everything (downtown, Fisherman's Wharf...) but also close to public traffic, to restaurants, pharmacies...
- Parking included, which is very comfortable
I definitely can recommend if you need a nice stay in order to discover San Francisco!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    332
    118
    37
    19
See reviews for
186
228
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed 5 nites & loved every minute. The room was super clean, quiet (ask for back of the facility), comfortable and so convenient to neighborhood eateries and shops. Never had to drive or cab it to dinner. Many different selections and all reasonably priced. Small mom pop places. The staff was very helpful, cheerful and knowledgeable. The breakfast is small selection, but there are at least 5 breakfast, cafes within a block walk. Parking was not a problem. We knew from other postings that it was tight, so we booked a small car there were 2 of us. We felt safe and secure. Will only stay here in the future. Wonderful price, free parking, and the convenience can not be beat.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights, room 224. Room was clean and reasonably spacious with a fridge/microwave/coffee maker and comfortable beds. Front desk was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was sparse, but at least free if you're on a budget - we used it to supplement the box of cereal we bought. Castle Inn was pretty easy to find and seemed to be in a good area - free parking another bonus. Thankfully the hotel had an elevator so we didn't have to drag our bags up to the 2nd floor (rooms have outside entrances). We didn't really try to walk anywhere from the hotel, so I can't say if it was conveniently located to things like the cable car etc. Our only complaint was the internet was terrible here, was really patchy and barely worked. We told the front desk but nothing really happened to fix it - being that other reviewers have commented on this, it was a little disappointing that this was still an issue. Other than some very rude guests calling loudly to each other back and forth outside at 2am (don't know why management didn't hear them?!) which due to the shape of the hotel facing the wall seemed to echo, we had a good stay and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trace123NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverbank, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Thanks to TripAdvisor once again!

This was a great find. While there's plenty of hotels and motels to choose from in San Francisco, it's difficult to find that perfect balance of decent quality and excellent pricing. This place does it to a T.

The room seems newly remodeled with nice bathroom tile (no slopped on grout). Everything was present and worked find. The bed was very good and the continental breakfast was ok. Pretty much all packaged pastries (plus cereal and fruit) but for what it was, it was fine. I love the one reviewer who dragged the ratings down with criticism of the absence of a big lobby (yeah, it's just a place to check in, and to grab your breakfast and take it to your room) and the lack of room service. Say what?! Now that's funny, I don't care who you are.

The free parking is a big plus, and with enough spaces for the guests, even coming back in late at night. Fine neighborhood and excellent property. Just what we were looking for.

Room Tip: We were way back, off the street, which is probably a good thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzfan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We found the Castle Inn on the Hotels.com site and then checked the reviews from Trip Advisor. We found everything to be as described. This is not a five star hotel; it is an Inn. As such, the managers, Marshall and Arlene, do a great job of keeping the rooms clean for guests. We were quite comfortable in our 3rd floor room. The hotel is only 1/2 block from bustling Polk Street where we could find places to eat, drink, and shop. We even found a hardware store 2 blocks from the hotel. Using our muni-pass, we explored much of SF by walking no more than two blocks to a cable car or a city bus. If you drive to the Castle Inn, the parking is free, which is not possible in most city hotels. The complimentary breakfast is nothing fancy; you take a tray back to your room to eat. Granola bars, oatmeal, yogurt, coffee, and tea are available every day. The best thing I can say about the Castle Inn is the way we were treated. Marshall and Arlene always wanted to know if we had a good night and they were knowledgeable about city events and locations. This is an extremely good value considering the location.

Room Tip: Close to bus and cable cars
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clyde33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
979 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
568 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#132 of 228 in San Francisco
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#114 of 228 in San Francisco
488 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#121 of 228 in San Francisco
748 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#143 of 228 in San Francisco
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Property: Castle Inn
Address: 1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109-2592
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,593 - ₹ 19,119
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described by guests as "the ideal place to stay in San Francisco," Castle Inn offers beautiful rooms, a fantastic location, and wonderful, friendly service. With FREE PARKING, FREE wireless internet access, in-room coffee, cable TV with HBO, hairdryers, iron/boards, mini-fridge/freezers, microwaves, a/c, and mini-breakfast, you have all of the comforts of home. Perfectly situated for your SF visit, we are within walking distance to Fisherman?s Wharf, Chinatown, Cable Cars, Crookedest Street, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel San Francisco
Castle Motel San Francisco
Castle Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing