We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
US$ 290
US$ 249
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 341
US$ 232
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 308/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 396
US$ 253
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 382
US$ 172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 252/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$ 265
US$ 259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 229
US$ 209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
da Vinci Villa(San Francisco)
US$ 229
US$ 215
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 325
US$ 302
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Taj Campton Place(San Francisco)
US$ 384
US$ 321
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$ 240
US$ 218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 270/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveller rating
330
359
127
39
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
359
127
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspolk streetfree parkingyogurtcereal barsfisherman's wharfgave us a maprussian hillvan nessgreat locationfridge and microwavestay there againwithin walking distancesafe neighborhoodcontinental breakfasta great place to staypublic transportationsized bed
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 874 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed 5 nites & loved every minute. The room was super clean, quiet (ask for back of the facility), comfortable and so convenient to neighborhood eateries and shops. Never had to drive or cab it to dinner. Many different selections and all reasonably priced. Small mom pop places. The staff was very helpful, cheerful and knowledgeable. The breakfast is small selection, but there are at least 5 breakfast, cafes within a block walk. Parking was not a problem. We knew from other postings that it was tight, so we booked a small car there were 2 of us. We felt safe and secure. Will only stay here in the future. Wonderful price, free parking, and the convenience can not be beat.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights, room 224. Room was clean and reasonably spacious with a fridge/microwave/coffee maker and comfortable beds. Front desk was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was sparse, but at least free if you're on a budget - we used it to supplement the box of cereal we bought. Castle Inn was pretty easy to find and seemed to be in a good area - free parking another bonus. Thankfully the hotel had an elevator so we didn't have to drag our bags up to the 2nd floor (rooms have outside entrances). We didn't really try to walk anywhere from the hotel, so I can't say if it was conveniently located to things like the cable car etc. Our only complaint was the internet was terrible here, was really patchy and barely worked. We told the front desk but nothing really happened to fix it - being that other reviewers have commented on this, it was a little disappointing that this was still an issue. Other than some very rude guests calling loudly to each other back and forth outside at 2am (don't know why management didn't hear them?!) which due to the shape of the hotel facing the wall seemed to echo, we had a good stay and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trace123NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Thanks to TripAdvisor once again!

This was a great find. While there's plenty of hotels and motels to choose from in San Francisco, it's difficult to find that perfect balance of decent quality and excellent pricing. This place does it to a T.

The room seems newly remodeled with nice bathroom tile (no slopped on grout). Everything was present and worked find. The bed was very good and the continental breakfast was ok. Pretty much all packaged pastries (plus cereal and fruit) but for what it was, it was fine. I love the one reviewer who dragged the ratings down with criticism of the absence of a big lobby (yeah, it's just a place to check in, and to grab your breakfast and take it to your room) and the lack of room service. Say what?! Now that's funny, I don't care who you are.

The free parking is a big plus, and with enough spaces for the guests, even coming back in late at night. Fine neighborhood and excellent property. Just what we were looking for.

Room Tip: We were way back, off the street, which is probably a good thing.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jazzfan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We found the Castle Inn on the Hotels.com site and then checked the reviews from Trip Advisor. We found everything to be as described. This is not a five star hotel; it is an Inn. As such, the managers, Marshall and Arlene, do a great job of keeping the rooms clean for guests. We were quite comfortable in our 3rd floor room. The hotel is only 1/2 block from bustling Polk Street where we could find places to eat, drink, and shop. We even found a hardware store 2 blocks from the hotel. Using our muni-pass, we explored much of SF by walking no more than two blocks to a cable car or a city bus. If you drive to the Castle Inn, the parking is free, which is not possible in most city hotels. The complimentary breakfast is nothing fancy; you take a tray back to your room to eat. Granola bars, oatmeal, yogurt, coffee, and tea are available every day. The best thing I can say about the Castle Inn is the way we were treated. Marshall and Arlene always wanted to know if we had a good night and they were knowledgeable about city events and locations. This is an extremely good value considering the location.

Room Tip: Close to bus and cable cars
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clyde33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The hotel has a small parking lot, but we had place to park all the three nights we stayed at the hotel. The breakfast, served in their tiny office is very basic but enough. The hotel is within a 30 minute walk to any tourist place (we used instead our car..) . The environment is safe, and there is a big 7 eleven shop where you can by all u need for food. The service is ok, and the manager was very helpfull. We had encountered problems with the Toilet and got no help several hours. The room has a small fridge, with no view. I would recommend this hotel for families (our room had two queen beds), who wants to take a walk even late in night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R0thFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews