We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“For the Price - it's worth the stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbus Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Columbus Motor Inn
Ranked #48 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For the Price - it's worth the stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Pros: Good Price, Great Location, Free Parking, Free Internet, Comfortable Bed/Mattress, Easy Check-in / Check-out, 24 Lobby Staffed, Elevator, Air Conditioning in Room, Room Safe, Large Flat Screen TV with good Channel choices, provided the extra pillows we asked for in advance.

Cons: Bathroom needs updating/repairs and housekeeping needs pointers on cleaning i.e. sticky light switches, dirt in bathroom corners and behind doors, mildewy shower curtain, black handprints on doors....

I kid you not - if the bathroom were cleaned properly I would have given this 4.
Even though it had horrible water pressure.

It's o.k. if it's old - as long as it's cleaned properly.

The room did smell a little like stale musty b.o. - not horribly - but whenever you first entered the room - you noticed it. Until you got used to it........

The Main bedroom area was large - relatively new carpeting and clearly the room had been painted with new crown molding. A nice job. Furniture is old but clean. A coat of white enamel paint would make them look better - but no big deal. They kept the crappy bathroom doors and handles and neglected to caulk a huge hole behind the toilet. The shower stall wall had been refaced but they kept the leaky fixtures.
I'm a bit perplexed at the way the rooms are being worked on........
We didn't need to use the A/C as the evenings were relatively cool and we kept the balcony doors open for fresh air. We were facing Columbus - busy street at all hours - but earplugs took care of the noise - no problem. Great view of COIT Tower from our room. PLENTY of restaurants, bars & coffee shops all over and just a couple of blocks away.

I will stay here again and recommend it to people because for the price and the other pros the cons can be dealt with. We had a three day stay.

Room Tip: Columbus is a very busy street. If you don't travel with earplugs - ask for a back room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drea39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    540
    95
    22
    12
See reviews for
410
472
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Great location. Close enough to walk most places OR hop on the MUNI. Bike rental (Blazing Saddles) one block away. Walgreen's one block away. Got to hotel early and they let us check in. Free parking! friendly staff at desk. felt safe here. room that faced Columbia Street but was quiet (2nd floor). Clean. room service each day - clean towels every day. Would stay here again because it was so affordable. Nice small quaint, locally-owned restaurants around the hotel for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed here twice during our recent visit to SFO and after reading all the positive reviews and getting a personal recommendation were a little underwhelmed. For the first one night stay on arriving at 3pm we had to wait around 15 minutes for the room to be available. The room was on the 2nd floor and faced the street. Street noise was bearable but the ice machine in the hallway did get a bit annoying during the night. The second time we arrived back by car around 7pm and scored the last spot in the street level carpark. We had a first floor (handicapped) room at the back with a nice view of a wall and not much character. It also seemed rather noisy and we expected a visit at any time from the returning revellers in the early hours of the morning. Lots of door banging etc. Reception seemed a bit grumpy at times - long hours maybe? Watch out for the lights over the table or better still move the table.
Price seemed reasonable for this part of town (although the most expensive on our trip) but I guess you get what you pay for. Parking is free which is a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2pnolvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Valley, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Columbus Motor Inn. It was a nice comfortable, clean room that served our purpose - sleep and shower at a very reasonable rate. We didn't spend much time in the room as we came to tour the area. Just a short walk to the Wharf area. I block from the trolley. If you have a car, it is free parking, and I liked how the lobby of the hotel looked into the parking garage to keep watch on the cars. We had a nice balcony on our room overlooking Columbus street. Would definitely stay here again on a future trip.

Room Tip: If you just need a reasonable priced clean comfortable room to sleep, this is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PASue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The CMI was great. Although it is an older place, it is clean and well kept. Our room faced the street and we had no problem with street noise. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. Noah and the other desk clerks were very friendly and helpful.
You cannot beat the location as you are right between North Beach and the Wharf/Embarcadero area. Chinatown is also very accessible from this location, and you can catch a trolley car or bus within a block of the CMI to go wherever you want. We parked our car and walked the entire three days we were there. It is a longer walk to AT&T Park, but you can always catch the electric trolley. We plan on staying here in again on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nvboatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#115 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#41 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Property: Columbus Motor Inn
Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-1798
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,368 - ₹ 19,815
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbus Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Columbus Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing