We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$ 305
US$ 250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$ 249
US$ 209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$ 219
US$ 214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$ 393
US$ 227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 325
US$ 307
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$ 279
US$ 272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 422
US$ 307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$ 250
US$ 183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$ 302
US$ 279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 522
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,186)
Filter reviews
1,186 results
Traveller rating
491
461
162
49
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
461
162
49
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarina districtfree parkingunion streetsmall poolcolorful decorcow hollowfisherman's wharfmotor lodgefamily suitefort masoncontinental breakfastpull out couchgreat neighborhoodpalace of fine artsthe golden gate bridgethe presidiowalk in closet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
756 - 761 of 1,186 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Although we liked the location, 2 blocks from Union, 2 from Chestnut, and the free parking, the room was mediocre with almost no storage room

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smachim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My daughter and I spent two days apartment hunting for her new job. We used Hotel Del Sol as our base. The rooms were clean and bright and colorful but did have a bit of a musty odor...that was minor. There is free parking which is a huge advantage considering lots of hotels charge a minimum of $45 per day. They provide a continental breakfast with bagels, coffee and tea. This is an open courtyard hotel that has lost of color from the pavement to the walls to the palm trees with lights. If you are looking for a base to go explore San Francisco then this is a great place. You have access by bus to almost everywhere...Union and Chestnut streets are close by for shopping and eats...Safe area of the city. WIll definitely stay here again. Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Get out and explore...take the 45 bus to North Beach, China town, Union Square
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onemorechance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The title tells it all! Use only if reasonable rates is your only criterion.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joekart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My mom and I stayed at the Hotel Del Sol for a long weekend and could not have been happier. It's an adorable, unique boutique hotel that is within walking distance of a large number of San Francisco's many sights. It's also convenient for public transportation. We did have a car, but walked almost everywhere.

The breakfast was delicious, nothing crazy but better than store-bought pastries. The staff was courteous, our room was clean and comfortable, and the lighted palm trees in the courtyard make it easy to find.

The best part is that they have two hammocks.

I will absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: The elevator is small but there are stairs at each corner.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This is a pleasant hotel. We stayed in one of the ground floor rooms by the pool. It was very comfortable and even though it was one of the smaller rooms in the hotel, there was plenty of space for the two of us and our luggage. Everything is decorated in nice bright colors. The bathroom could have used some hooks for hanging up wet towels, and more electrical outlets for charging our gadgets would have been nice too.

The staff were very friendly. We arrived a little early and they made efforts to get our room ready as quick as possible. The complimentary breakfast was okay - bagels, muffins, cake, toast, boiled eggs, orange juice and some really good coffee. It was served in the check-in area and you could either eat outside at the tables by the pool or take it to your room. The free wifi was quite reliable and it also worked fine in the poolside area.

We chose this place because it's close to the Fort Mason Center (where I was attending an event). There are shops and restaurants close by on Union street, where you can also find bus stops. The location is not terribly convenient for sightseeing, but it was perfect for where I needed to be.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flamedash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews