We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
US$ 290
US$ 249
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 399
US$ 211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 215
US$ 187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
da Vinci Villa(San Francisco)
US$ 220
US$ 194
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 267
US$ 261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 318
US$ 276
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Taj Campton Place(San Francisco)
US$ 384
US$ 342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$ 213
US$ 193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$ 265
US$ 259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,207)
Filter reviews
1,207 results
Traveller rating
500
467
164
52
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
467
164
52
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarina districtfree parkingunion streetsmall poolcolorful decorcow hollowfisherman's wharfmotor lodgefamily suitefort masoncontinental breakfastpull out couchgreat neighborhoodpalace of fine artsthe golden gate bridgethe presidiowalk in closet
Filter
Updating list...
775 - 780 of 1,207 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My mom and I stayed at the Hotel Del Sol for a long weekend and could not have been happier. It's an adorable, unique boutique hotel that is within walking distance of a large number of San Francisco's many sights. It's also convenient for public transportation. We did have a car, but walked almost everywhere.

The breakfast was delicious, nothing crazy but better than store-bought pastries. The staff was courteous, our room was clean and comfortable, and the lighted palm trees in the courtyard make it easy to find.

The best part is that they have two hammocks.

I will absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: The elevator is small but there are stairs at each corner.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This is a pleasant hotel. We stayed in one of the ground floor rooms by the pool. It was very comfortable and even though it was one of the smaller rooms in the hotel, there was plenty of space for the two of us and our luggage. Everything is decorated in nice bright colors. The bathroom could have used some hooks for hanging up wet towels, and more electrical outlets for charging our gadgets would have been nice too.

The staff were very friendly. We arrived a little early and they made efforts to get our room ready as quick as possible. The complimentary breakfast was okay - bagels, muffins, cake, toast, boiled eggs, orange juice and some really good coffee. It was served in the check-in area and you could either eat outside at the tables by the pool or take it to your room. The free wifi was quite reliable and it also worked fine in the poolside area.

We chose this place because it's close to the Fort Mason Center (where I was attending an event). There are shops and restaurants close by on Union street, where you can also find bus stops. The location is not terribly convenient for sightseeing, but it was perfect for where I needed to be.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flamedash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This was our second time of staying here when flying into SFO on vacation. Easy to get to and get out of for those with a car. Just off Lombard Street so there is public transport if you haven’t. Choice of restaurants within walking distance and you can walk to the sea front & Fishermans Warf. If you take your time it is quite enjoyable in the good weather. They provide good information in your room about things to do in the area. Some of the magazines have street maps/ public transport information so if you use those it is easy to get about and all part of the fun on vacation. Rooms are quite good but they do vary on what they offer and their website is not very clear on exactly what is available. We stayed at the start & end of our vacation and for the first stay were upgraded to a small suit which was very nice. The rooms facing into the courtyard are quieter. On our second stay we had a room facing the adjacent parking lot and hence onto Lombard Street. The road noise was quite noticeable but we still slept well. If we stay again I would try and avoid that room as it was also by the stairs. This room was more basic & smaller with no fridge even though there was space for one which was a shame as the weather was quite warm so it was trips to the ice machine to keep drinks cool. The rooms just have showers no bath tubs. I knew this when we booked and as we were only staying a few days each time that was not an issue as the showers are quite adequate. They provide toiletries in the shower which are good. Breakfast is OK, toast, bagels, cereal, boiled eggs, drinks & juice and as you have a table in your room it is easy to take back to eat if you do not want to use one of the tables outside which you can see by the pool on their website. Last year it was too cold for the pool but this year it was very nice and warm. Children tend to use it afternoons but early morning & evening I had it to myself. It is not huge big enough to swim lengths for exercise and a real bonus for an affordable San Francisco hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed here with my two children (7 and 10) in August 2011. The children loved the hotel, particularly the breakfast. They could eat as much porridge, bagels/toast and cake as they wanted and there was good coffee for me too. The room was a good size and clean, with air con and a safe. Bathroom on the small side and nowhere to dry wet towels. Good location - 5 minutes walk from a good range of shops and places to eat. We also used buses and trams to get around - only 10 minutes bus/walk to Fisherman's Wharf. If the weather had been warmer, they would have loved to use the pool more - instead they had lots of fun playing on the two hammocks in the courtyard.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GibbsintheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My two girlfriends and I just spent 4 nights in the Junior Suite. The room was clean and efficient for what we needed, and that basically was a place to sleep. The morning breakfast was satisfactory. Coffee was good. Our room was directly over the office, and on street side, so we did have noise. We talked to the staff about the music that played late into the night, and they were accomadating about turning it down. Overall, our stay was good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RodaSeeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews