We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good!”
Review of Lombard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lombard Motor Inn
Ranked #78 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Great place, good location and very helpful staff. All in all highly recommended. Just don't increase the price after renovation...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    301
    114
    15
    10
See reviews for
164
241
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at the Lombard Motor Inn for 5 nights in mid-April and it proved to be an excellent choice. I originally looked at a number of hotels in the Union Square area, but decided not to spend the money on a hotel room when we would be out sight-seeing most of the time.

The room at the Lombard Motor Inn was recently renovated with a clean, modern bathroom, a 42"(+?) flat screen TV and a balcony overlooking Lombard Street. We requested this location as the third floor Lombard Street rooms have a view of the GG bridge. Yes, Lombard St is busy all night and the tour and commuter buses all come through on the 101. But we never even used the ear plugs I brought. Guess all the walking and activities made for deep sleeping. Anyways, we loved the street-life and the balcony.

The new (tempurpedic?) king-sized bed was wonderful! Linens are changed every three days, unless requested more often. We ordered the optional refrigerator at and extra $5 per day.

Check-in and check-out were flawless. The average price per night was as stated on the reservations: about $102/night. Staff was friendly and helpful. We were able to borrow a corkscrew from the front desk. And when our TV froze at about 10pm one night, the the front desk attendant came right up to fix it.

The location was very convenient for us as we planned to visit many different areas of the city. We took the muni everywhere, especially the buses along Van Ness and Chestnut St. The walk to Fisherman's Wharf was about 15 minutes. We rented a car for one day and were able to park it overnight in the hotel garage at no additional charge.

I would definitely stay at the Lombard Motor Inn again. But I would also check out the Cow Hollow Motor Inn, a sister property. While it doesn't have balcony rooms, I would love to be closer to a restaurant/shopping district, as the Cow Hollow is. We walked to this area for dinner on two different evenings; on two other evenings we had dinner on Union Street. Both are easy walks, but it might be nice to be closer to the nightlife of these areas. Another possibility would be the Columbus Motor Inn, which also has balconies and might be closer to restaurants.

There are a couple of small markets in the immediate area for snacks and drinks and other supplies.

It looked like the first floor rooms were being renovated in April 2012 while we were there.

Room Tip: King rooms are on the Lombard Street side with balconies. Good for deeper sleepers. The sliders do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Price and location make this hotel one outstanding deal. I was traveling with teenage kids and wanted to be in walking distance of the Wharf and other things to do but didn't want to pay over $100 per night. We were lucky enough to get a renovated room on the third floor and it was really clean and nicely redone. What makes this place the ultimate deal is the free parking! The Holiday Inn up the street wanted $45 a night for my car which just wasn't going to happen. Even though there's no free breakfast at this hotel the money I spent on a few muffins and bananas was nothing compared to what I saved by staying here. The only negatives (minor) I would say is that even on the third floor you can really hear the road noise on Lombard - so bring ear plugs. And even though the rooms are renovated the furniture was a bit dated. Finally, the elevator did break down while we were there - but the seemed to be on top of it and repairs were being done quickly. One nice thing they did was let me keep the car parked there after we'd checked out and I got it later that day before we took the red-eye back to the east coast, which was a money saver. All in all, a great hotel for the money and I definitely will be back....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed here for one night. The first room we were in was on the first floor facing Lombard St. Wouldn't recommend facing the street unless your use to traffic noise. Asked for another room and were given a third floor room opposite Lombard St. This room had been remodeled and was very nice. Comfortable, clean, quiet, great night. We will be back in future visits.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I visited this "motor inn" twice last summer on a family vacation to Yosemite. I traveled to San Francisco again in February 2012 for a business conference and stayed afterwards to do some sightseeing. I booked online directly with the hotel website (hint: it's the cheapest place to book here) and found the prices up just a little from last year. However, after paying $180 for parking in the financial district, the extra $20 was well worth just the free parking alone.

Pulling into the garage I was met with stacks of wood, carpet, and other remodeling items. I checked in, and found myself in a completely remodeled room. The rooms were a bit dated on my previous trip, but still in great shape. With the new updates, the room prices are STILL one of the best deals in the area. Oh, and did I mention the free parking?

New carpeting, plasma/LCD televisions, new paint, completely remodeled bathrooms, nice new firm memory foam mattresses. I slept like a log. The old tubs are replaced with nice tile showers. The rooms on the front of the hotel are still noisier (why do people on this side of town use car horns so much?), but considering the deal, the proximity to great restaurants and the pier area, a $.39 set of earplugs is well worth the price. The rooms on the back side are literally silent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are very quiet, but dark and with no view as there is a wall 3 feet away. Cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StLJam59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#109 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#28 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#86 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#35 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#43 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#107 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lombard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombard Motor Inn

Property: Lombard Motor Inn
Address: 1475 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lombard Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lombard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombard Motor Hotel San Francisco
Lombard Motor Inn San Francisco
Lombard Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing