We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lombard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lombard Motor Inn
Ranked #77 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in feb 2010. The rom was big and with a room off the street it was also very quiet. It could use a upgrad. The bath rom had a ok size and was clean. Parking was free. Walking distance to Fishermans warf. Mels dinner was right down the street. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    278
    105
    11
    9
See reviews for
149
219
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We just had a great stay here. They don't have queen beds but the doubles slept well. Rooms had a good amount of space. We asked for a room off the street and it was quiet. The back overlooks the backyards of neighbors.A small lobby with friendly helpful staff. There are 2 parking lots the upper lot off Lombard seems more secure. Location wise, we are walkers. We bought Muni passes and then were creative about routes. A cable car stops at the top of lombard. It was 3 long blocks to the hotel but all downhill. Fishermans wharf is an easy #30 bus. If you walk it seems shorter to walk up lombard. Actually head for the water first and you will miss the climb up and down the hill. #30 also gets you to Chinatown and Union square. No breakfast or microwave but clean basic rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street for a quiet sleep. Not a great view but no lane or street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel44jllh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

The staff was nice, the room was clean. However, the most disappointing thing was the view from the room. We were on the third floor and faced away from the direction of the wharf. Our view was partially obstructed by someones home and we could see onto their porch. That was disappointing because this was our honeymoon and they didn't have anything with a view available either. :(

When you ask for pillows or any other toiletries, you have to go down and get them. We also have a large vehicle, 94 ford f250 and it barely fit in the space in the garage, but hey, it was free so we didn't complain too much about that.

Other than those little annoyances, the mattress was super comfortable (cali king) and the pillows were amazing. The staff was friendly as could be. Not to mention the location!!! A taxi ride was 8 bucks at the most and it was about a 10 minute walk to the wharf. :) Its worth it, just request a third floor with a view or else you could get a lot of traffic noise from Lombard St.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jebabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel after reading reviews here on Trip advisor. I was expecting this hotel to be worse than it was. The one review truth is the noise. It is crazy noisy with traffic sounds ALL night long. I had a balcony room over the street. We kept our tv on all night to help drown out the sound. Other than that the room was new and clean and staff is super nice. It is in a nice area of town, safe and clean. Close to the bus and we walked to the wharf. There is a corner store right around the corner that sells dinner food and deli sandwiches. For the price this was the way to go for the budget minded.

Room Tip: If you smoke the balcony room is the way to go. My husband had his ciggeretts out on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel at the beginning of September 2011. When we arrived at about 2pm we were given 3 rooms as booked at the rear of the hotel and was warned that one of the rooms may not be ready due to 1 of us originally being booked at the front. As soon as we found out which room it was we spoke to the cleaners and they went to clean it straight away. Check in time is 3pm, so we couldn't complain.

We then walked to Fisherman's Wharf and pier 33 for the boat to Alcatraz it took about 20mins and although it is up hill going back it is an easy walk. The hotel is close to a muni bus stop for the lazy and less mobile.

The hotel rooms are of a good size with a fridge and microwave, coffee making facilities. The bathroom is a good size as well and has a bath with shower over. The sink is just outside the door with a hairdryer. Rooms are cleaned daily and you have a choice of having your towels changed daily by leaving them on the floor.

Would I stay here again?...Yes. Would I recommend it to a friend?...Definately.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear, not so much road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taffydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#88 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#85 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#45 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#108 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lombard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombard Motor Inn

Property: Lombard Motor Inn
Address: 1475 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lombard Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Lombard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombard Motor Hotel San Francisco
Lombard Motor Inn San Francisco
Lombard Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing