We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“You can do better in San Francisco..” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buena Vista Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Ranked #117 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You can do better in San Francisco..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at thr Buena Vista inJuly 20-23 after finding it on Tripadvisor. The location is excellent -near to the bus lines and Fishermans Wharf. And thats about it...
We stayed in room 311 and when you walk in in the door it stank of stale cigarette smoke. The bedspread,,chairs and curtains all reeked.The furniture was like something you`d find in a Salvation army shop.The overall atmosphere was so bad we didn`t unpack and lived out of our suitcases for 3 days
I`d say that during our stay 90% of the guests were European ,mainly German , who did not speak English. Stimulating conversations with our fellow guests was non-existant.The two men who manned the front desk were unfriendly and treated it as a McJob.
If you are a smoker who likes living in an ashtray this is the place for you -otherwise LOOK ELSEWHERE !..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorTorontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    325
    201
    50
    20
See reviews for
197
307
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed in San Francisco in November 2011. Hotels in San Fran are expensive, unfortunatley. We ended up staying at the Buena Vista Motor Inn.

PROS
- Free parking! (isn`t that what every hotel needs)
- Free (but small) breakfast
- Nice views of the Golden Gate Bridge
- Close to restaurants and attractions

CONS
-Pretty old hotel
-Small room
-It was going under some sort of renovations during our trip
-Cigarette burns on my bedsheet? Not sure
-Felt kind of crowded

I know for a fact that our stay wasn't "TERRIBLE" or "NEVER COME BACK", as some of the other reviews say. We got an average stay at the hotel for a fine price.
Would I come back? Um, probably not. I would rather look for a nicer hotel in the same area or something.
My advice to people considering this hotel: Do you want a really nice hotel for your trip in San Fran? Keep looking. But if you don't mind small motels, then this might be the place for you.
(By the way our experience in San Francisco was a gem.)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xaina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

My first intention while planning my Frisco trip was to stay next to Fishermans Wharf. However after totaling up the price after parking was included, I kept looking. I stumbled on this hotel while reading tipadviser review and ended up booking a room. This was my first time staying in San Fran and I realy felt that this hotel and it's location captured the feel of the city. I loved the room, inspite of the bed being to hard for our liking. I loved the location, and the staff went out of their way to give us directions and advice. The continental breakfast was simple, but we loved the danishes and the fruit was always fresh. If you are driving, the parking is free. It is a cramped parking area so larger vehicles will present a parking challenge, but spaces were always available during our 3 days there. Bus service to anywhere in the city is available very close to the hotel. There are plenty of dinning options within walking distance and a liquor store was just around the block. I loved my stay at this hotel and I would recommend it, especialy if you are on a tighter budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband join me on a business trip and wanted to stay close to Fisherman's Wharf. Prices of hotels in that area were way over my budget. We settled on the Buena Vista because it was only 1 1/2 miles from the Wharf. Being on Lombard street I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. The big plus was there was free parking! The room and bath which were of a good size were clean and nicely furnished. We stayed on the third floor with easy access to a sun room lounge and deck both looking at the top of the Golden Gate Bridge. It was a nice way to meet many of the foreign visitors staying at the hotel. I was only 5 blocks from my business appointment, 3 blocks from Union Street with lots of shopping and nice restaurants, 2 miles from Union Square, a short drive to Golden Gate Park, Golden Gate Bridge and North Beach. The staff was helpful. The breakfast is fruit, pastries, coffee and tea. Enough to get you started. We'll be back.

Room Tip: 301 is next to the sun room and deck. Ask for the non street size. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were staying in San Francisco for 2 nights, arriving at midnight on our first night, so wanted somewhere cheap to stay. What we got for our money was amazing value, and I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area. It's in a decent location, we found it safe to walk the neighborhood even at midnight. Everything was within walking distance, or you could always take a ride on the bus/trolley. The room was a good size, the bathroom clean, and the staff on reception were very helpful when we asked for information. Breakfast in the morning was free, pastries, fruit juice, and drinks... perfect :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary_Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#141 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#143 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#102 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#27 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 76 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Property: Buena Vista Motor Inn
Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,755 - ₹ 20,176
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing