We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect location for San Fran” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location for San Fran”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed at the Canterbury with my wife. We used time share points with Wyndham. Our room had a fridge, microwave, dishwasher, and small area for dining. The bathroom was completely modern and updated. The location was in the heart of the city, but it wasn't very loud. Short walk to grocery or to Union Square. There is a charge for parking, so we found it better to use public transport. The concierge desk is extremely helpful. They gave us many discounts.

Room Tip: A suite is available for large families. We took a tour of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNtraveler1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    210
    36
    13
    10
See reviews for
265
251
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The location is in the heart of downtown, so it's busy/noisy. Having said that, our room was on the 2nd floor facing the street, and we did not have a problem with the noise once we closed the windows (the living area faced the street, and the bedroom was a little further back). As far as location, it's easily accessible and close to everything (Chinatown and Union Square). We did not rent a car, and we were very close to all kinds of public transportation. Very good restaurants nearby as well. As far as the hotel itself, it is gorgeous! Clean, modern, beautiful. Our room had a living area, fully equipped kitchenette, dining area, and plenty of closet space. The staff was friendly and helpful. I wish there was a way to avoid the timeshare sales pitch. They told us it was a 1 hour presentation about RCI updates. We didn't learn anything knew about RCI. But we made sure the presentation ended at 60 minutes. They gave us a $75 AMEX gift card for enduring the 1-hour presentation. The concierge was trying to be helpful and tried to book us on a city tour, but with TripAdvisor's mobile app, we were able to find self-guided tours, and did everything and saw everything without having to pay $55 per person for the city tour. All in all, I would recommend this hotel for its location, friendly staff, and beautiful and modern facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
502 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Wyndham Canterbury is a very nice property. The location may leave a bit to be desired but all in all it cannot be beat.

The parking valets were great fun and informative. The front desk check-in was quick and easy. The staff was first class. Upon check-in you are pointed to the concierge desk for any help you may want or need. They were very helpful for everything from restaurants to public transit.

At every Wyndham property we ask that we not be bothered by sales or “member services” and to date that request has been honored. The room was very nicely decorated, modern and very chic. The view was of rooftops and a small section of Sutter Street. Everything was clean and in excellent working order. It is a beautiful property.

We cannot say enough about the property and the staff all first class. We can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelertoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for a week and loved everything about it - great historic building with tons of character yet updated and beautiful rooms. Add to this the fantastic service by absolutely everyone we encountered and we could not have asked for more! Oh ya - nice location too as it was about a 10 minute walk to Union Square.

One other thing that was especially nice was the ability for myself and family to book it through our timesahre (RCI affiliated) and have my in laws find a website online that will allow non timeshare owners to pay a reasonable rate for such a nice place (it was about $175 per night for a 1 bedroom suite with mini kitchen). So we were able to stay in the same place (adjoined rooms too). Overall we loved it and hope to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn,CA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I loved this timeshare city resort. Mind you, I am not a big lover of visiting big cities with all the noise, traffic and congestion, but I am a sucker for deals! When you check in, you are referred to the concierge desk for help planning your vacation stay. Here we met an absolute gem of an employee, Elle. We know timeshare "updates"(aka presentations) well where there are timeshare sellers, whose business is to get you to buy into some form of timeshare program. Elle said it would be only 60 minutes, but it ended up being 80 minutes when we had to "end" our meeting. It would have gone on for hours if you allow it. For our 80 minutes, we received 2 $69 Bay Passes for free, which we thoroughly appreciated. Elle picked up that we were interested in the passes when we first met her. While timeshare updates are kind of pushy sometimes, just remember that they cannot make you buy a timeshare. If you agree to a set period of time, hold them to it if you are not interested in buying their programs. We also got a light breakfast with the update, yogurt and OJ for me and a ham, cheese & egg breakfast sandwich for the wife. Elle was invaluable with info how to get to the AT&T Giants game and provided several discount cards to nearby restaurants. Now parking, the going rates for off street parking is $25-50 per day at various nearby lots/hotels. The Wyndham Canterbury valet parking is over $34/day. I went for the valet service as we got a heck of a good deal via RCI for the week @$189. One of the perks of getting into a timeshare program, which RCI and Wyndham each have there own programs, which are confusing and frustrating for person new to the timeshare world. Our 1 bedroom/1bathroom unit was Very clean and had a microwave, small refrig,sink,blender, toaster. While we were half way back from the street, Tuesday 4am trash truck was heard as was loud accelerating motorcycles. Turning on the a/c helped some as we sleep a bit better when it's cool anyway and the operation seemed to drown out the outside noise. Probably ear plugs any where in SF would be wise if you don't do well with city noise. There is 7-11 and a Wallgreens 2-3 blocks away as was a couple of mom n pop grocery stores.we brought some bread, jam, cookies, chips, popcorn etc with us from home for most breakfasts and snacks. The Wallgreens drug store also had some fruit and stocked a few food items, but heck this is SF and the restaurants are wonderful. I saw a Jack in the Box restaurant in the area for some fast food. Being that I am not a big fan of staying in big cities, I would not buy into this timeshare, but would visit again in a few years happily!

Room Tip: Hey this is the big city, so bring ear plugs. The queen bed was great, 2 32-inch flat screen tvs wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garyd210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,578 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco

Property: Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
Address: 750 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,848 - ₹ 26,154
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Canterbury At San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing