We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Misrepresentation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Misrepresentation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Bewware and understand what you are sigining when you buy this time share. Unless you boook 6 to nine months in advance it is almost impossible to obtain rooms in desireable location.

A invitation to a bufffet breakfast is oine to b pitched again and egg, ham sandwich. The no strings $50.00 AMEX credit is to sit through another presentation. Room was okay but if you wanted housekeeping you paid extra.

This location makes sure you are up early with garbage trucks and city trafiic. Though you can cook in finding a decent grocery store is challenge.No resturnat in hotel.

When you cost out the value the of you discovrery VIP you get 11 nights for $2,700.00 plus which per room is not a bargin.

Room Tip: Top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    210
    36
    13
    10
See reviews for
265
251
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

A group of 7 of us decided to take a weekend trip in February to San Francisco from Vegas and our friends were nice enough to use their Wyndham timeshare points to book the 3 bedroom presidential suite at the Canterbury.
The hotel is located in an excellent area, with short walks to the Trolley stops, Union Square, fine and casual dining, etc. (Starbucks and a Walgreens were about 3 blocks away which was great! and The Pearl - featured on The Food Network, Best thing I Ever Ate - is a few blocks away as well... GREAT BURGERS!)The woman at the concierge desk was WONDERFUL! I've waited so long to write this review that I forgot her name! I believe it was Elle? or something similar. She helped us out with EVERYTHING we needed. She gave us maps, coupons, told us tips on great places to eat. We all got a few chocolate samples and a Wyndham welcome kit thingy with some samples of toiletries that you may have forgotten to bring. She was great! such a great personality! I meant to fill out a comment card about her before we left but we ran short on time.
Actually, the entire staff was super great and accommodating. Ah! the bellman... he was fabulous as well... the day we came back from Napa we had bought a few bottles of wine to enjoy in the room and with a quick phone call, he ran up a wine opener for us... brand new in the package! He even brewed a fresh pot of coffee in the lobby for me! I forgot his name too... I'm terrible. Hopefully the tip we gave him when we left makes up for it :( (we all threw in some money for him, he was awesome).
Other than the entirely awesome staff, the hotel was top notch as well! it was beautiful in the lobby, and they have a game room with a pool table and Foosball and also computers and a printer.
The room was just the icing on the cake! it was very spacious and had everything you could possibly need. I felt like I was staying in someone's upscale apartment for the weekend! Each bedroom was beautiful and different. The Master Bath had one of those Rainmaker shower heads! There was a full refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee pot, all utensils, pots and pans, even wine glasses! You could make a whole meal and serve it on the full sized dining room table. There was plenty of space in the living area and the rooms were pretty decent sized. I think my husband and I got the smallest room of the 3 but it didn't really matter, we were only in it to sleep... there was PLENTY of space in the rest of the suite.
I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to ANYONE. it was gorgeous, the staff was friendly and it is close to everything!
The ONLY downfall was that our friends (the timeshare owners) had to go to a breakfast (actually all 7 of us were invited but only a few went) to thank us for staying and talk about timeshare option add ons or something... it was short, about an hour I think... but then they got stuck talking to the timeshare people for like 2 hours on our last day... but it had something to do with timeshare rollover days or something... I think our friends lost hours somehow and needed to get them back (not the hotel, but the Wyndham timeshare as a whole)... but it took a LONG time. I'm sure that isn't a regular thing, just since they had an issue, they got stuck talking for so long. but again, it wasn't because of the hotel, it was because of a personal issue. All in all it was an AWESOME stay and if we all ever visit San Francisco again, we will definitely return! A+++++++++

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We were not expecting too much from this hotel, being accommodation we had settled for from South Africa purely on the basis of its being a timeshare property. We were absolutely delighted to discover that the quality of the accommodation was excellent, the front office staff delightful, friendly, professional and efficient and that the property was a mere three blocks away from a cable car stop and about four from Union Square. Thanks to all other reviewers for the heads up re the hard sell of timeshare sales staff. We made it clear on check-in that we wanted no contact and we feel that we were better off for being fore-warned by you guys. I subtracted a star because although the accommodation was officially a 4 sleeper unit, housekeeping would not make up the sleeper couch on request. Maybe that's the norm but my husband put his back out moving furniture and pulling out the bed. All in all though we loved it and would only stay there if we visited San Fransisco again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubafan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We spent a long weekend in the Presidential suite. The suite was amazing. I could go on and on about the walk in shower and the dual head shower system. I also loved the art-deco inspired finishes that the decor and architecture reflects. The hotel is within walking distance to many shops and great restaurants. The doorman could always get us a cab under a minute to places beyond walking distance. We enjoyed the amenities at this hotel and the service was impeccable. We had a fantastic trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n2research
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

we spent a week here in february..staff was wonderful, great location..stayed in a one bedroom which was more than adequate for 2 (would have been a bit crowded for 2 couples)..we were here on a timeshare week and it was one of the nicest timeshares we have used..great location, lots of places to eat w/in walking distance and close to union square..this one is a winner...concierge service was great and very helpful

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,569 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco

Property: Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
Address: 750 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,592 - ₹ 25,160
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Canterbury At San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing