We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wyndham Canterbury SAn Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wyndham Canterbury SAn Francisco”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Wyndham Canterbury in SF was a great place to stay on my first trip to SF. I was located between the Wharf area and the financial district just 3 blocks off of the trolley car route. There were many nice restaurants in the area and we could walk to them. Felt very safe in the area and there was self parking down the street just one block at a good rate $21 for overnight.
The Wyndham was clean, friendly staff, the suite we had was spacious and was nice for time together or for wanting some privacy. The only issue we had was getting the concierge staff to answer phones, the front desk would transfer and then you would get recordings.
Had a small issue with the service from the airport pickiing us up and the valet did not seem to want to own the issue at all.
Lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: The view from the 10th floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daisylover927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    230
    38
    13
    12
See reviews for
297
273
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Wow! What a beautiful hotel. So clean and friendly service. The front desk gal was very helpful with advice on fun things to do in the city. I love the way this hotel is decorated and the rooms were comfortable, clean and roomie. I'd definately stay here again. **Important to know that it's $30 a day to have your car parked by the hotel- its through a valet service. If you want to go to Fisherman's Wharf or Pier 39 it's best to hop on the bus for $2 a person or else it's a pretty far walk from the hotel and very hilly.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My wife and I wanted to get away to celebrate our 24th anniversary. We are members of Worldmark by Windham, so we used Worldmark credits for our lodging at Canterbury. We want to say up front that the hotel is very impressive --squeaky clean, and nicely furnished. And our room was quite lovely and very comfortable. We really enjoyed our time in our room. Now here's the unpleasant part: when we arrived we were greeted by several employees and made to feel right at home. One of these friendly folks told us that as a "welcome gift" our parking for the three nights of our stay was "on the house". We were quite impressed and thanked her profusely. Then she said that as another "gift" we were invited to a free orientation breakfast in the dining room the first morning we were there. We assumed attendance was optional, as we felt no need of being oriented. We were wrong. The next morning, as we were "sleeping in" -- something we never have a chance to do at home, as we work 7 days a week -- the phone rang with an urgent reminder that we were expected in the dining area in 30 minutes for our "free" breakfast. Right then we should have known that something was not on the up-and-up, but we got up, got dressed, and showed up for breakfast. Big mistake! We realized fairly quickly that the "free" breakfast, like the "free" parking, had strings attached: we had to sit through a 1 to 2 hour sales pitch, encouraging us in many different ways (and with more than one sale person teaming us) to "join" the Wyndam family by buying into their time share. We said at the start that we had not understood that the beginning of our precious three day celebratory get-away was to be marred by having to get up and sit through a pushy sales presentation. Our greeters the previous evening had mentioned nothing about sitting through a presentation in return for our "gifts". We were then told that if we didn't sit through the sales pitch, we could kiss our "free" parking goodbye. They probably would have taken the "free" breakfast back too, except that we had already eaten the croissant with egg and cheese that constituted breakfast (not very interest fare, by the way). Needless to say, we did not give in to the sales pressure -- we listened to the hype, took the tour, watched the movie, and then politely said that we were not interested in yet another time share membership. Especially if using the membership we already have comes at the expense of spending hours of our vacation time with someone trying to push yet another membership on us. Having gotten past this decidedly unpleasant experience, were were able to enjoy the remainder of our holiday, but we are not motivated to return to this property. What they say is true: there is no such thing as a "free lunch" (or apparently a free breakfast either).

Room Tip: Make sure your room doesn't come with unknown "strings" attached
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The Wyndham Canterbury in San Francisco was not a disappointment! We were in a one bedroom deluxe unit, with a king sized comfortable bed and fully furnished kitchen. The location was great--close to Union Square, Chinatown, and streetcar/bus/cable car/BART. The staff was very helpful and congenial. Also, we did the tour of Alcatraz and enjoyed that. Our arrangements were made through a timeshare exchange with Wyndham. In speaking with the concierge, she suggested a 45 minute breakfast, which ended up being at least two hours, to update us with information on our timeshare. Although it was somewhat informative, it was a sales pitch and used up a lot of our precious time in a great city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Wyndham Resort is nice and the rooms are nicely decorated, however because it is right in the center of town it is noisy. In addition there is no pool or hot tub!The location makes all the city attractions easy to get to. Walking or buying the city pass works best.
Now.... Comes the part you need to WATCH OUT for! Stay away from ALL their sales people because they are as crooked as a jay bird! THey will feed you crap and tell you anything for a sale or up-grade.They promise you things that don't exist. WE got burned for thousands of dollars to become platinum members which didn't help our families in the least. THese sales people are called "Condo Aliens". You will be sorry!! Families from Colorado

Room Tip: Stay away from Sutter Street side of building. Don't go near back area of the main lobby or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertLarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,239 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,231 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 229 in San Francisco
1,714 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco

Property: Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco
Address: 750 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,769 - ₹ 39,000
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Canterbury at San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Canterbury At San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing