We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs. Crocker's Legacy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grace Cathedral

Grace Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 39.00*
and up
San Francisco Treasures-Summer of Love Edition
Ranked #35 of 529 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grace Cathedral is home to a community where the best of Episcopal tradition courageously embraces innovation and open-minded conversation, where inclusion is expected and people of all faiths are welcomed, where beliefs are put into action and where people are encouraged to seek God and progress on their own spiritual journeys. The cathedral itself, a renowned San Francisco landmark, serves as a magnet, where diverse people gather to worship, celebrate, seek solace, converse and learn.Famed as a destination for visitors from all over the world, the cathedral is known for its striking architecture, stained glass, singular collection of art, and Interfaith AIDS Memorial Chapel.
Fishkill, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs. Crocker's Legacy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I have known it since i was a child. A massive, gothic cathedral sitting atop Knob Hill. There are not too many cathedrals in our country and it is always great to see such a church. Its Carrillon Bells were made in England and impart a magic sound that can only come from that type of bell. The most memorable aspect of this property aside from the bells is to attend an evensong concert which usually occurs late in the day one needs to inquire for time and day. The evensong service is sung by the boys & men's choir and lasts about 1 hour. A stunning sound that is reminiscent of English choirs resonating from another time. It worth a special visit.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank abchew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gracecathedral, Canon for Administration at Grace Cathedral, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thanks for visiting. Evensong occurs on Thursdays at 5:15 p.m. During the school year, the Choir of Men & Boys sing. During the summer, the Men of the Choir sing. Evensong also occurs on Sundays at 3 p.m. (mid-September through mid-June). The cathedral's mixed voice choir, Camerata, sings.

For our full service schedule, check our website. There is a link at the upper right of the homepage: Service Times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    318
    79
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Duke Ellington played here. . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Nice old historic church, Duke played and recorded his "scared concert" here, and Pharoah Sanders played here as well, that's enough for me. But I guess you could get your Jesus fix here too.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
234 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Gothic Magnificence in SF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

The last time I had visited this place was in my youth when I had little appreciation for things ancient! I accidentally ran into this gorgeous cathedral again when I was in San Fran a few days ago for my daughter's wedding. This cathedral was built in 1849 and is famous for its Ghiberti doors and colorful stainglass windows. Its Gothic style is reminiscent of its massive European counterparts. The cathedral houses one of the largest organs in the U.S. containing 7500 pipes. It also hosts numerous choir and musical events. Try to find the schedule on- line and experience one of these concerts (www.GraceCathedral.org). A MUST see in San Francisco for its collection of art works, architecture, and windows.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelina62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to rest and meditate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Grace Cathedral is a huge gorgeous Anglican cathedra across from the Fairmont Hotle l, takes up a whole block, even has it's own coffee shop and good gift shop. Stunning stained glass. Two labyrinths, one inside, one outside. Lots of info on using the labyrinth for mediation

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank leapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Florence in SF”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

The doors of the Cathedral are the same as the Duomo in Florence. They tell the stories from the bible. Inside you can walk the circle of life which is pretty cool. The stain glass is bright and stunning. Not quite Europe but nice for the US.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Khaton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grace Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Grace Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing