We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not regret our decision”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #18 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Was very nervous in choosing a hotel through the internet but relied on tripadvisor comments for the chancellor. I was not disappointed..the location is excellent, right on the powell cable car line, shopping is right outside your door, restaurants within walking distance (sears for breakfast, scalia for dinner) no need to move your car once you've parked. The hotel does not take advantage and charge you $50 per day for your car. The staff was excellent, friendly and very helpful. Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraSpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,764 - 2,768 of 5,398 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed in Late July after being in Las Vegas in 42C heat, and as this hotel advertised no air conditioning I was a little concerned as to how we would cope...San Fransisco in July is not hot!!!
Beautiful change..and no worries bout aircon.The room has a ceiling fan and you can open the window so plenty of coolness. The position of the hotel is great, right next to Union Square, cable cars at the front door, the open top tourist buses close by as well.
The hotel was clean, checkin quick nd friendly. Bed was comfortable.Bathroom was abut small but you don't spend too much time in them. We were on the 12th floor at the front of the hotel and some reviews have said it can be noisy with traffic noise, when we closed the window and heavy drapes the noise was minimal.
There is no coffee making in the room however there is facilities available in the foyer 24hrs a day.
There is a tourist desk in the foyer that can help you with transport queries, but they do charge a fee. Sometimes you learn things the hard way!
Overall our stay at the Chancellor Hotel was fantastic and I would stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: I just asked for a high room at the front when booking and they obliged. I wanted a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotthebug33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Chancellor Hotel is a nice and comfortable hotel right in the middle of everything. The lobby is small, but there is a very nice bar (although limited beer choices), with extremely friendly bartenders. The room was quite small, but fine for a single traveler on business. I had a single queen room. Not much of a view from the room, but I was not in the room a whole lot. The bathroom was simple, but had all of the necessary stuff (VERY deep tub if you'd like taking a bath). Ceiling fan was a nice feature, AND a walk-in closet which is unheard of in a small hotel like this. I'd recommend this hotel and would likely stay there again if I find myself back in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, so with more than one traveler you might want to get the largest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12BrettM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Hotel location was wonderful. Rooms were small but cute more European size but the hotel is 100 years old. Staff was very friendly and responded well when a request was made. We would stay there again. Coffee and cookies all day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in August. The hotel offers a terrific location, cable cars at the doorstep and steps to public transit. The room was small, but very clean and neat, loved the old atmosphere feel. One issue with an equipment problem and the GM Wes was quick to resolve it to ensure our satisfaction. The staff were friendly and accomodating, answered questions. The fellow at the Tours desk was most helpful in arranging for transportaion, anwering questions and making suggestions. Remember your in the heart of the action in Union Square, so if your a light sleeper perhaps request a room at the rear of the hotel. Based on this recent experience, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! Thanks Chancellor Hotel.

Room Tip: Light sleeper, ask for a rear room. may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KP1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 231 in San Francisco
3,813 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#17 of 231 in San Francisco
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,578 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 231 in San Francisco
631 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 12,573 - ₹ 25,988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the doorstep. Experience the best service and thoughtful amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing