We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location location..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #15 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Adelaide
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location location..”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed in Late July after being in Las Vegas in 42C heat, and as this hotel advertised no air conditioning I was a little concerned as to how we would cope...San Fransisco in July is not hot!!!
Beautiful change..and no worries bout aircon.The room has a ceiling fan and you can open the window so plenty of coolness. The position of the hotel is great, right next to Union Square, cable cars at the front door, the open top tourist buses close by as well.
The hotel was clean, checkin quick nd friendly. Bed was comfortable.Bathroom was abut small but you don't spend too much time in them. We were on the 12th floor at the front of the hotel and some reviews have said it can be noisy with traffic noise, when we closed the window and heavy drapes the noise was minimal.
There is no coffee making in the room however there is facilities available in the foyer 24hrs a day.
There is a tourist desk in the foyer that can help you with transport queries, but they do charge a fee. Sometimes you learn things the hard way!
Overall our stay at the Chancellor Hotel was fantastic and I would stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: I just asked for a high room at the front when booking and they obliged. I wanted a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotthebug33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,756
    1,905
    327
    47
    19
See reviews for
575
2,643
336
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,068)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Chancellor Hotel is a nice and comfortable hotel right in the middle of everything. The lobby is small, but there is a very nice bar (although limited beer choices), with extremely friendly bartenders. The room was quite small, but fine for a single traveler on business. I had a single queen room. Not much of a view from the room, but I was not in the room a whole lot. The bathroom was simple, but had all of the necessary stuff (VERY deep tub if you'd like taking a bath). Ceiling fan was a nice feature, AND a walk-in closet which is unheard of in a small hotel like this. I'd recommend this hotel and would likely stay there again if I find myself back in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, so with more than one traveler you might want to get the largest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Hotel location was wonderful. Rooms were small but cute more European size but the hotel is 100 years old. Staff was very friendly and responded well when a request was made. We would stay there again. Coffee and cookies all day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in August. The hotel offers a terrific location, cable cars at the doorstep and steps to public transit. The room was small, but very clean and neat, loved the old atmosphere feel. One issue with an equipment problem and the GM Wes was quick to resolve it to ensure our satisfaction. The staff were friendly and accomodating, answered questions. The fellow at the Tours desk was most helpful in arranging for transportaion, anwering questions and making suggestions. Remember your in the heart of the action in Union Square, so if your a light sleeper perhaps request a room at the rear of the hotel. Based on this recent experience, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! Thanks Chancellor Hotel.

Room Tip: Light sleeper, ask for a rear room. may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KP1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The Chancellor Hotel was very nice. It was a small hotel with great service and amenities. The personnel were all very helpful and nice. The concierge was extremely helpful in recommending transportation and restaurants, Enjoy!

Room Tip: The hotel has 10 rooms per floor. The room we stayed in was next to the elevator but it did not dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,570 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
2,699 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
1,601 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 227 in San Francisco
3,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,437 - ₹ 23,708
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing