We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location - Old Fashioned Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #14 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good Location - Old Fashioned Hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Hilton this isn't, if you are after a modern hotel with steel and glass then look elsewhere. This is all wood and carpet and some may see this as dated, others will see it as quaint old fashioned charm. The room was a good size and the views across the City were befitting of a hotel in such an elevated position....whcih takes me to my next point. Nob Hill is as the name would suggest a Hill. San Francisco is full of hills so that is no surprise. I am a fairly young and fit guy so for me it was just the one lung that seemed to explode everytime I strolled up from the main strip, any older and I may have been in trouble. The location is fantastic, dont be mistaken on that point, it is just far enough out of the hustle and bustle but literally 5 minutes walk (downhill) and you are in the middle of it all. From the top of Nob Hill the streets flow down either side and the Bay winds blow in a swirling breath of freshness....but you may be looking for a taxi or cable car if you have had a busy day shopping or sight seeing and you find yourself at the bottom.
Breakfast at The Huntington for me was Eggs Benedict every morning and served in the old style bar area it felt like a comfy bit of grub in your local. Again this may not be to everybodys tastes but I loved it. The booths were private and comfy and there was none of that cold stiffness you can sometimes find in more modern establishments. Eggs Benedict were superb and the coffee was free flowing.
Overall I had a great experience at The Huntington and would certainly recommend. If you are used to Hiltons/Radissons etc then this will be a very pleasant change. All the mod cons are available but in am old fashioned surrounding.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    395
    100
    43
    25
See reviews for
181
698
67
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

One cannot deny how wonderfully located this hotel is. It's atop Nob Hill, and if you request a park view, you will get an amazing view of the bay and Grace Cathedral. When we first arrived, it was weird, there was no doorman there to receive us, as we wanted to use valet parking. Oh well, we just drove down a 100 ft and parked at the lot near the hotel, the Nob Hill Center Garage. *Note, when their sign says that the hotel validates parking, its not for overnight guests but only for spa guests who pay $15 for 3 hours. We stayed here for a celebration and because of a great deal from Bloomspot. We had a deluxe room on the ninth floor overlooking the park. The room could have benefited from an update, as the furniture looked a bit scratched. The bed was comfy, sheets were soft and clean and in the evening we received a nice turn down service. Again, the bathroom could be updated to the new millennium, though it was very clean. The walls were a bit thin, as we could hear folks talking normally in the hallway. We took advantage of the pool/spa amenities. We were given slippers and a robe and shown to our lockers. Although we didn't receive spa treatments we floated around the pool. The pool could have been about 5 degrees warmer, but if you just stayed below the surface of the water, it was bearable. We also decided to splurge on room service for the continental breakfast. My husband wanted the continental breakfast and all i wanted was fruit. It asked how many of each serving a guest would like to request and he put down two toasts and two croissants. because of this, we were charged two continental breakfasts because he just wanted an extra croissant and slice of bread! Not cool. We tried to explain this, but the hotel refused to take out this extra cost.

So this is why I'm giving this place three stars. From this particular experience, the hotel's only saving grace was the location and the fabulous view. But quite honestly, we could have had a nicer experience somewhere else. Sorry Huntington Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park and request a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvln_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANTA ROSA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I decided to take a night away in the city. As we walked in we were greeted by Glen and Frederic. They were both so accomodating and helpful. They greeted us by name each time we entered the loby which made us feel very welcome. Glen and Frederic provided exceptional service during our stay. We spent some relaxation time in the spa. Our message therapists were Bart and Grant. They were amazing! Later in the day we had a fabulous dinner in The Big 4 Restaurant. The food was great but the drinks were a pricey. The room we were staying in was nice and extremely clean. The bathroom however, was in need of a serious renovation. All in all we had a terrific experience and a very relaxing weekend. We'll definitely be back. Thank you to the staff at The Huntington Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMW415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

As someone else recently said, the rooms have great views, but the hotel is a bit tired. We snagged a Bloomspot deal for $169 a night, and for that I think it was great. I'm not sure I would pay the regular rate though.

We were lucky to be able to check in early and had a top floor room with fantastic views of Huntington Park and the Bay. Since it's situated on top of Nob Hill I'd imagine most of the views are good, and it's an easy walk downhill to the waterfront (but I'd suggest a cab back up!).

The room was rather large, but the bathroom was a bit small and the showerhead was very low (and I'm only 5'5"). The bed was comfortable, but everything looked a little old. We also had a hard time regulating the temperature and had to open to window most of the time we were there to keep the room cool enough (even though the temperature outside never got above 65).

Bottom line is that with a deal, it's worth it, but at full price, I think I'd pass.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor facing the park for a great view and people/dog watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDeac03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We loved our stay here. The staff were unfailingly helpful, our room was HUGE, clean and so calm and quiet (though the bathroom was a bit underwhelming in that it was pretty dated).

Only niggle was having to pay for wi-fi, which I think is a bit much at these prices.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank belulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,904 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
377 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
856 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,489 - ₹ 36,468
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing