We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel in a great location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #13 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a great location...”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I found a great rate for this hotel online and booked it based strictly on the location and price. It turned out to be a solid decision. The hotel is a little dated, but definitely in a charming, ironic sort of way. The bar/ restaurant was all wood paneled and gave a sophisticated, retro vibe. The reception desk is small, but the staff was always friendly and efficient. Each day I was greeted coming and going by the bell man and they were always welcoming. My room was a superior queen and was large for San Francisco, especially for the price and my view was fantastic. The bed was big and comfortable and the windows opened, which I loved. I was on the 8th floor near the elevator and never had a problem with noise. The location was within walking distance of Union Square and Chinatown, but was also close to public transportation.

There were just a couple of small things worth mentioning that might be perceived by some as negative, but I would just consider them a little "heads up":

1. Room service is extremely expensive. I feel like it's par for the course for a hotel in San Francisco, but if you are expecting "budget" room service, this hotel doesn't have that many low price options. On my last night there I asked for delivery menus for restaurants in the area and the front desk staff happily obliged.

2. The hotel is on a steep incline. After my first day I learned how to use the trolley system so the steep incline was not so bad as the trolley stops immediately in front of the hotel. Cabs are also readily available. Going downhill is no problem, but going up can get taxing.

3. Lastly, and I really hate to mention it, but on my second day there the concierge had a nose bleed and he gave me directions and a map while holding a Kleenex to his nose. I had read reviews that stated that the concierge staff wasn't friendly. I did not find this to be the case, but he was extremely distracted with the nose bleed. I guess in hindsight he was trying to continue to be accommodating even though he was having a medical issue, but it would have probably been better to have left the concierge desk for a bit to pull himself together.

Overall, this hotel was a great choice. I feel like I had a really good San Francisco experience in a safe, clean and friendly hotel at a great price. I would definitely return and would gladly recommend The Huntington to friends.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 811, right near the elevator, and the room was spacious with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael77092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    402
    102
    43
    24
See reviews for
185
706
69
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Thank you to all the wonderful staff at the Huntington Hotel you made our visit to San Francisco so memorable - This is a wonderful Hotel with amazingly spacious rooms we were well looked after and it is in an excellent location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I have stayed here a few times and was fully booked last two times.This is avery elegant boutique hotel with a fabulous indoor pool and spa. Great location.

Helpful?
Thank 648Seniortraveler648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The staff was wonderful, and the restaurant was magnificent. My co-worker injured her arm while at the hotel, and the staff couldn't be more caring. They were all genuinely concerned about her well-being, and kept asking how she was doing throughout our stay. They have a courtesy car from 8-4 on weekdays to take you to nearby locations, which was very convenient. On Feb. 16th, President Obama was speaking in the building next to the hotel, which meant that the roads were closed around the hotel. The staff called us on our cell phone to let us know when the roads opened again, so we could return to the hotel. Their guest service is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlfromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary in Nov 2010. My husband broke his toe on the bed frame, which has no toe space under it. The staff could have cared less and seemed more concerned that we didn't sue them than that he was OK after our all night trip to UCSF for xrays, etc. The rooms are nice and the spa there is GREAT, wonderful pool, and the spa staff is very, very helpful and friendly, but they are not hired by the Huntington. The bar is fun, old style dark wood and nice staff. The hotel front desk staff is generally very, very, very snobby, but the doormen are very nice. Good location for a walk as the park across the street is nice plus you can visit the Fairmont (though their tea is not as well-appointed as the Ritz, a ca ride away!). Would look elsewhere but if I could not find what I wanted might consider the Huntington again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,018 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Property: The Scarlet Huntington
Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,923 - ₹ 39,272
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing