We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nob hill gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #64 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orange, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nob hill gem”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Mark Hopkins in a beautiful historic hotel. The top of the mark is such a special touch with a beautiful view. Very convenient to take cable cars to fishermans wharf, union square, and shopping downtown. We took the Alcatraz trip but book your tickets early.

A few notes the hotel has very limited food and beverage so bring a few waters and snacks if you are traveling with kids. Not really a kid friendly hotel. Elevators in need of renovating and very slow.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triptakero25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    886
    373
    154
    74
See reviews for
439
953
135
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I’ll remember the view from our 14th floor window for years—Grace Cathedral, Pacific Union Club, and the Golden Gate in the distance. I love hotels from this era; so I expected smaller rooms and a bit more noise from the street and other rooms. I would recommend parking at the Sutter-Stockton garage instead of paying 50+/night to park at the hotel. The cost is half that and a nice free healthy walk.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJMSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is a classic old hotel on top of Nob Hill in San Francisco. For its age, it has been well maintained and has not lost any of its character. The rooms are very nice and most have a great view. The top floor of the hotel features a bar and restaurant that has been updated and is modern and most importantly has a great view of the city in all directions. This is a nice place for a drink at the end of the night. Of significant note, is the hotel staff...from the front desk to the doorman to the maids...they exhibited the perfect combination of friendliness and professionalism. All in all, this is a classic hotel more typically found in Europe than in the U.S.

One additional plus is that the hotel is located at the nexus of the cable car lines, making it easy to jump on them at any time and go to all the main areas through out the city with minimal trouble.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUSTPLAYING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. After trudging up Powell St. in the rain with our bags (long Cable Car lines and we refused a ride from a shady cab driver), we were allowed to check in 4 hours early and were given a corner room with a great view on the fifth floor. The room had 3 windows and looked out toward the NE, we were on the opposite side and never heard the Cable Cars. Had one problem the first night with a window that wouldn't lock and they sent maintenance up right away to fix. We booked through Priceline for $122/night but were treated just the same as anyone paying full price by the staff. We got a Muni Passport and were able to get buses or Cable Cars from within a 2 block walk to go anywhere in the city. Favorite was taking the Cable Car down California to the Embarcadaro where we could go anywhere. Agree about good exercise walking to and fro. We went to the Top of the Mark on Tuesday evening for a free wine tasting, and took in the incredible city views. If you wake up early I recommend going up to look around @ sunrise - no one is there and they do not mind you looking out without eating at all. Bottom line - We wanted a 4 star experience and got it and more with our stay at the Mark Hopkins.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterd64k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

DH and I celebrated our anniversary with a trip to San Francisco. Our stay at the Mark Hopkins was perfect and the location at the top of Nob Hill offered stunning views of the city. From the moment we arrived, the staff was very courteous. We were shown around the Club Intercontinental Lounge and offered ice water with cucumber or lemon. Our suite, with an adjoining sitting room, was small but quintessentially San Francisco. A view from the bathroom AND the bedroom, period details and a huge walk in shower almost made me want to stay in the room the entire time! Soon after our arrival, room service brought us up an anniversary present made entirely of chocolate.

With all that San Francisco has to offer, we did not dine at the hotel. We meant to go to the Top of the Mark but somehow missed doing so. We did take advantage of the lounge amenities and had some light hors d'oeuvres one afternoon and a continental breakfast on another. The food was very well prepared and fresh and the concierge on duty was extremely helpful. I would not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizzusK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,907 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#57 of 229 in San Francisco
4,526 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#11 of 229 in San Francisco
1,368 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,174 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Property: InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Address: 1 Nob Hill, 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,820 - ₹ 35,066
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels with a long legacy of service excellence. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing