We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good one!”
Review of Music City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Music City Hotel
Ranked #123 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Montevideo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is a good one!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I didn't have an idea of how the hotel was going to, but when I arrived it surprised me how good it was for its price.
The room had all that was needed: sink, table. closet. refrigerator and tv.
Then, my other big question were the bathrooms: EXCELLENT! There were some with just a toilet and a sink, and other with a shower too. They were looked very nice, considering the price, and clean!
The location was great too. Maybe it's not the most beautiful neighborhood in the city, but it;s very close to powell st, market st, chinatown, and other places you might wanna visit. And there are many bus lines you can take nearby.
I wouldn't doubt of going back to this hotel in my next visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauruts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    135
    97
    42
    30
See reviews for
26
105
133
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Nice staff, the room and the bathroom were very clean.
I really loved staying there and would go back.
The location is amazing, near to Van Ness Avenue.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbarchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Very nice hostel/hotel and even better when you look at the price. Clean and the staff very good. Only problem is the music rehersal space below the building thats noisy till late at night.you can't get an early night here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gghygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Accommodating staff, safe, decent beds. Well kept and one of the cheapest rooms you'll find in SF. Vertigo is just round the corner for a fun filled night of music and dance.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank BelvillaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I absolutely LOVE this hostel. The location is perfect since it is right by polk street. Polk Street is where many locals hang out and it is the best spot to go bar hopping or go to a nice restaurant if you want to escape the tourisy stuff for a bit. My friend and I went to during Spring Break and on our last night in San Fran, we went to a nice restaurant then bar hopping afterward. Just be prepare to bring LOTS of cash since most bars only accept cash.

The only downside to the hostel is the band playing at night but that didn't really bother us too much. My friend and I got a private bedroom for two. The hostel also helps you call a airport shuttle and it's only $15.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guiltlesspleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#174 of 228 in San Francisco
56 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel North Beach
Hotel North Beach
#192 of 228 in San Francisco
320 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dakota Hotel
#188 of 228 in San Francisco
180 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#99 of 228 in San Francisco
2,307 reviews
Layne Hotel
#201 of 228 in San Francisco
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Music City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music City Hotel

Property: Music City Hotel
Address: 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,074 - ₹ 11,759
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Music City Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Music City Hotel/Hostel offers the best combination of service, location, and cleanliness for affordable Hotel and Hostel accommodations in San Francisco. Be energized by the past, present and future of music in the city while at Music City Hotel, a tribute to the robust musical history of the Bay Area, and dedicated towards nurturing its present. This is a one of a kind artistic and cultural experience you don't want to miss. Located in the vibrant Polk Gulch neighborhood, dozens of varied and excellent food, beverage, and entertainment options are within steps of Music City Hotel. Tourist attractions and neighborhoods such as Chinatown, Union Square, North Beach, Fisherman’s Wharf, Golden Gate Bridge, Haight Ashbury, and the Mission District are all located either within walking distance or a short bus ride away thanks to our convenient and central location. With options ranging from four person and six person dormitories, to private rooms with shared restrooms, all the way to junior suites with a kitchen and bathroom, there is enough variety here to fulfill almost every style of travel and budgetary need. Below you are 15 rehearsal and recording studios, the epicenter for thousands of local musicians focused on the creative process of rehearsal, performance, and education in their craft. Be immersed in our stylishly decorated rooms and halls featuring aluminum laser printed photographs of the most prominent figures in the musical history of the Bay Area, all while staying comfortably connected at the crossroads of the city’s present day music scene along with it’s storied past. Feel free to wander into the lower level to check out this exciting vibe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Music City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Express San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing